Artichoke Tetrazzini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I had the ingredients and this sounded good. I halved the chicken broth and half-and-half as I was just making a small dinner for my husband and me, used more thyme and added a bit of nutmeg and a shake of red pepper flakes. I did not use the canned artichoke liquid in the sauce because it was already tasting PERFECT. This just hit the spot tonight and, coincidentally, was one of the best sauces I have made in years. Thanks for the recipe. It is now in a place of honor in my new 'regular rotation".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I loved the recipe. I don't care for overpowering taste of marinated artichokes, so I used artichokes in brine and rinsed them and did not use the brine in the sauce. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was soooooo good. And even better the next day for leftovers. It's the perfect creamy sauce. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Pretty good. I didn't read the reviews prior to this, but I do agree with some in saying it's a little bland; I think it needs something. I added lots of pepper to mine, and some chili flakes. Sundries tomatoes is a good idea. As I love mushrooms, artichokes, and pasta, I'll make this again, but probably add a few things. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very good. I used oyster mushrooms and fresh thyme. Served it with French baguette with garlic butter and a simple salad. I didn't think it needed garlic in the sauce but the garlic flavor went well on the side. Leftovers reheated well in the microwave on half power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Good base recipe, but I did make some changes to make it more flavorful. As is, the artichokes are not the centerpiece and it is not pretty to look at in the dish-- kind of grey and bound together by the cheese which was added too early and clumps everything up. I added more flour to make it a little thicker, used homemade chicken stock in place of canned, added pepper, whole,cream top milk in place of half in half, and twice as many artichokes (and used the juice in place of some of the stock so you wouldn't waste the artichoke flavor.) I also put the cheese in last as other reviewers did to not have it be such an integrated dish. Finally, I put about three big handfuls of baby spinach in the bottom of the pasta dish and put the final, hot noodles with sauce over that and then gently folded the spinach (now wilted) in. Worked great and added a bit of freshness to a pretty heavy dish. (You should also not cook the linguini until tender, since once you put it in the hot sauce it will overcook. I kept my linguini very al dente and let the sauce cook it the rest of the way.)This is very rich so I'd serve it with something acidic, like a tomato or fruit salad with nothing cheesy or creamy on on the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We really loved this. I did use capellini rather than linguini (my hubby's preference), and I didn't have half and half so used heavy cream instead (!). My chicken broth was my homemade broth using the carcass of Roast Sticky Chicken from this site, so it had all that added flavor (but that's mostly what I use--never the canned stuff). Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My hubby wants this again tomorrow. No problem with that! There are only the two of us, and this makes a lot! But it was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
We liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good... taste reminds me homemade creamed spinach on pasts, but using artichokes instead. I made it without the parm cheese since the hubs doesn't like that taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODILUVIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I didn't like this but gave it a star more than I think it deserves because I changed stuff and that might have ruined it. I added garlic and had to use artichoke hearts in water because that's what I had. I put in Italian seasoning instead of thyme and used wheat noodles. The first time I ate it I just thought it was bland. Just not to my tastes, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
For as much fat (cheese, 1/2 and 1/2, butter) as this recipe has in it, I thought it would be a lot creamier. The taste was good, but I thought it was too soupy. If I make it again, I will cut back significantly on all the liquids. I'll reserve the cheese, toss the sauce with the noodles, put them in a casserole dish, top with the cheese and bake until it's melty and the liquid has thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Turkey Tetrazzini II

See how to make classic turkey tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States