Artichoke Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I'd just like to add that sauteeing the caps mushrooms in some olive oil before baking makes them softer. Also, I added some more shredded cheese to the top before baking. Also cutting the bottoms of the mushroom caps to make them flush will keep the shrooms from toppling over. I usually dont have too much filling left over but that will depend on how big your mushrooms are. I try to get the container with the biggest mushrooms and stuff em way up high. I am the recipe author, for those who think these are bland, add only half off the cream cheese and saute FRESH garlic with your onions. For all those who have extra stuffing left, again, add half the cream cheese and PEEL your mushroom caps. This opens them up so you can add more stuffing. This is a "starter" recipe that you can modify. I have gotten lazy and now throw all the stuffing ingredients into my food processor! Cheers and happy cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
If you are looking for the next appetizer to serve at your dinner party. You just found it. I took these to a dinner party and they were a huge hit. I followed as stated, only my onion was a bit small and I put 1/8 teaspoon pepper in as I did not add as I cooked the onion. The baking time is straight up. If you use the stuffing mushrooms, which I was very happy to find, but wish I had bought two packages, because I thought it said stuff 12.. haha.. my mistake. I might add that the comment by one person at the party was "these are better than any I have eaten at a restaurant".. GREAT job CC.. you made me a hit! UPDATE: For the poster below.. If you have leftovers, I just tasted.. Yummy on crackers, spread it on a bagel, stuff it in some chicken and bake. Lots to do with just the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made these exactly as written, except I used mozzerella and shredded parmesan because I didn't have any Italian blend shredded cheese. So, I'm eating one in the kitchen while I take the photo... Me: MAN! These mushrooms are gooood! ~ Him (from the other room): I haven't tried one yet." ~ Me: "You will be happy when you do." ~ Him: "MMM! These are the best stuffed mushrooms I've ever had." ~ Me: "Really? She'll be happy to hear that - they're Chicago's. ~ Him: "Delicious!" ~ Me: "I almost don't want to tell her cuz she'll be all full of herself." Nicely done. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
EXCELLENT stuffed mushrooms! I followed recipe as written, but I baked them in a 9x13 glass dish with a bit of melted butter on the bottom and covered them. The mushrooms were tender and so delicious. I used jumbo mushrooms and overstuffed a bit, which didn't matter because I sopped up the drippings with crusty bread (; these are truly addicting and plan to have a "dinner" with these alone. This is replacing my stuffed mushroom recipe I have made for years, absolutely wonderful. I broiled these for a few minutes at the end. Thanks CC84Anita for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Nice balance of flavors but a little too creamy for my tastes. Maybe add a little less cream cheese and bake them longer. Also, I used minced fresh garlic rather than the garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I used the non-marinated artichokes, mozzarella and parm cheeses. These were awesome - I was lucky to get one. I need to make some when no one is around so I can have some guilty food pleasure all to myself. Thanks Anita for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Perfect! I followed the recipe exactly, except I too used reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream. Artichoke dip and stuffed mushrooms are 2 of my favorite appetizers, so this was awesome! Now if I can figure out a way to add bacon for a true trifecta of favorites.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
LOVE these! My only stray from the recipe was using mozzarella cheese in place of the Italian cheese blend (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Because there were only the two of us, I made half a batch of these little marvelous wonders! That was a mistake! They are SOOO yummy! I made them as written, using Anita's suggestion to slice off a touch of the bottom of the mushrooms to keep them from toppling. These were much better than the main dish I prepared! Thanks, Anita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
WOW I made these tonight on the spur of the moment for an impromtu dinner, I didn't use all the mushrooms and fillings so I'll be making the rest tomorrow!! It was really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States