Artichoke Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This recipe is super! However, instead of making a spread, I used this to make artichoke dip for tortilla chips and Italian bread. In doing so, I skipped the food processor and coarse chopped the artichoke hearts by hand and used a garlic press for the garlic...it was fairly simple...took a whole 5 minutes extra. Then I mixed the ingredients together right in the baking dish. I also used marinated artichoke hearts since the recipe did not specify and it turned out great. I did change the oven temperature to 350 and baked for 20 minutes because I wanted a slower cooking to help the flavors mingle together. It turned out very flavorful and creamy...not greasy at all. Great recipe! P.S. I used FRESH grated parmesan cheese...not the salt licks in a green can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I receive compliments and a clean dish every time I make this recipe. The good news is, you don't need a blender or food processor to make this recipe. I used a hand-held electric mixer to blend the ingredients together, except for the artichoke hearts. Then I chopped the artichoke hearts and used a spoon to mix them into the other ingredients. Quick, delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This is so delicious and I have not even heated it up yet! I made this for New Year's Eve tonight, and I'm sure it will be a great addition to our appetizer table. It was also very easy to make in my food processor. I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
When I'm having company and want an alternative to nacho cheese dip, this is the recipe I turn to. I've made it several times, and it turns out perfect. I don't have a food processor, so I just chop the ingredients, it gives it a little more texture. I'm also a artichoke-spinach fan, so I always add a thawed package of frozen, chopped spinach (or about 2 cups fresh, blanched in boiling water and then drained and chopped). It's great served with tortilla chips and "crusty" breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
This is a really great dish! I took it to a friend's barbeque where it was a huge success. I recommend doubling or tripling it! I did not process the ingredient and instead coarsly chopped the artickokes and mixed all together by hand. This made for bites with bits and pieces of artichoke. Yummy! For a spicy variation, try adding a chopped jalapeno or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
This is a really quick and delicious dish. Guests really enjoy it and it also travels well should you be a guest at someone elses party. I did however chop the artichokes rather than processing them. This resulted in bits and pieces of artichoke throughout. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was so delicious! I only used half the artichokes and I chopped them instead of processing them. 14 oz of artichokes just seemed like it would be too much. I had only recently tried artichoke dip for the first time at a restaurant. It was so good there, that I tried to find a recipe that came close, and this one does! The cream cheese and the parmesan really make it creamy and delicious! And it got rave reviews from family and friends. Served with warm herb bread, it's to die for! I have also made this using fat free cream cheese and mayo - you can hardly tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Used non-fat cream cheese, replaced mayo with non-fat Greek yogurt = guilt-free deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
We enjoyed this. I used fat free cream cheese and mayo (I am sure the full fat ingredients would be even tastier). I am not a big fan of dill, so I replaced it with oregano and I am happy I did. If I were to make any changes to this recipe, I would only puree half the artichokes and chop the rest, and maybe top it with a little shredded cheese before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Incredibly Delicous and wonderful appetizer! I've made a couple of times and everyone has loved it. I grate the parmesan cheese myself which is wonderful! I don't have a food processor, so I just cut up and mix by hand and again, is fabulous. We usually service with tortilla chips and baby carrots. This is my new go to appetizer for guests and parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States