Artichoke Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe. It has been a hit at several parties, I modified it using some advice from other reviews... *saute fresh chopped garlic into butter (5-6 cloves) * use double the spinach and artichoke hearts * cut the creamcheese to 1.5 packages * cut the sourcream to only 1 container * use a mix of parmesean, asiago and romano I also made pita chips to go along with it...just brush olive oil mixed with pepper and garilic salt onto cut up pita pieces (triangles) and bake at 350 until crisp. Tastes better than what you get at resturaunts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
The missing ingredient: LEMON JUICE. I agree with another reviewer that when you have to change the recipe a whole lot, it's not a five star recipe. But with the changes I made, I would give this SIX stars! - I sauteed three garlic cloves and about two tablespoons of finely chopped onion with the butter - I used twice the artichokes and chopped them pretty small (like 1/4 inch to 1/2 inch pieces) - I used the full amount of cream cheese and sour cream-- half the amount looked disproportionate to all of those artichokes - I used kosher salt. mmm. - when I added the sour cream and cream cheese, I squeezed the juice of one small lemon into the mix. I figured the blandness indicated the need for a bright flavor. I really think that lemon juice was just the thing. Ours was tangy, creamy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I've made this dip 5-6 times, my suggestions...crush 4 cloves of garlic and cook in the butter as it's melting, also, I use two cans of artichoke hearts, and I cut the cream cheese and sour cream in half, and finally, for a little more flavor, I add some ground pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper to taste, and a tablespoon of worcestershire....great tasting and easy...can even put a big batch in a crock pot on low....stays warm and delicous for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Although I could feel myself getting fatter with every bite, this was soooooooo yummy. I served it at a party and everyone loved it. A couple girls even asked for the recipe. A couple of notes: it does get cold and set up rather quickly, so try to serve it in small quantities, reserving the rest on the stove to keep warm. Also, the recipe makes a LARGE batch; if you're not entertaining, I suggest cutting it in half for munching at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELAGH420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
This was truly wonderful! I did make a few changes, however. I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen spinach, only one container of sour cream, and 2 Tablespoons of minced garlic in place of the garlic salt. It tasted just like the dip a caterer made for a party I went to. Make sure you buy 'chopped' spinach - mine was frozen leaves and I had to put it in a blender for a few seconds to chop it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINIVANMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Ok, I made this dip and took it to a BBQ as an appetizer. It was gone in no time and everybody wanted the recipe! I had read a lot of the previous reviews and so decided to make some modifications to the recipe: I used almost 16 oz of frozen spinach and just a little more than half the cream cheese and sour cream. I also sauteed 2 heaping Teaspoons of crushed garlic in the butter before adding the spinach and artichokes to the saucepan. I added salt and lots of pepper. The dip turned out nice and chunky and had a lot of flavor - can anybody say 'garlic'???. I served it warm with some sliced french bread. This will be my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This is a great recipe. However, when I made it the first time there was too much of it. So I cut the amount of cream cheese and sour cream in half, replaced them with fat-free sour cream and cream cheese instead. Then I added another package of spinache, replaced the garlic salt with minced garlic and it turned out BEAUTIFUL! This is a great starter recipe. Everyone who has tried this has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This was so creamy and rich. I didn't add all the sour cream called for, but it was perfect. I also used olive oil instead of butter, and added chopped garlic to saute with spinach and artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Wow! What a great recipe! I also only used one container of sour cream and cream cheese. I also made the recipe earlier in the day, cooled it off, then placed the saucepan in the refrigerator. When our guests arrived, I just put the saucepan back onto the stove and warmed it up again. Rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is a fantastic dip! I get rave reviews every time I have made it. It really does make 56 servings, so be sure you have a lot of hungry guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States