Artichoke Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Initially it seemed like it made way to much dressing until the next morning after having been in the refrigerator overnight, the rice had absorbed much of the dressing so the mixture was a bit on the dry side and the curry flavor was barely there so next time I will use all the mayo mix and double the curry as others suggested. I did prefer it warm as opposed to well chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I was excited to make this recipe because of the great reviews, but I am sad to say that I really didn't like it and nobody else did either. The flavors didn't seem to go together very well. I took it to a potluck and came home with over half of it left; tried to give the rest to my parents but they didn't want it either! The only changes I made were halving the mayo (as so many reviewers suggested) and leaving out the green onions as I didn't realize I was out of them. But I doubt that was enough to change the recipe too much. Oh well, live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is one of my family's favorite recipes, and can be found in the San Francisco a la Carte cook book published by the Junior League of San Francisco in 1979. That version of the recipe suggests adding sliced pimento-stuffed green olives, which is an important addition! Do not, as some have suggested, leave out the curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This salad is even tastier if you add a 1/2 c of chopped green olives. Instead of cooking with chicken stock, use the chicken rice seasoning from chicken flavored rice. Gives it a nice flavor kick! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Not at all appealing to me or my family. l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Good recipe, very different. Most who tried the salad did not realize it was rice in it. I added a little lemon juice, and a little more curry. Decreased the mayo by 1 cup. Everyone liked it and thought it was different. I like the amount it made, we took it to a family dinner and then had a little to eat the next day with grilled chicken. Perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I am confused by all the other posts because I used all the mayo and marinade and felt it was still a little dry. I made it for an office party and tasted it the morning I took it to work and it was not my favorite. Maybe I am missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is a very good dish i used par boilled in a rice cooker.just before the rice is cook (almost all water is absorb) remove from bowl stir to cool rice so u do not over cook the rice. also used a mild curry power medium was too much heat for this dish 1/2 mayo 1 tsp curry more vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is great with Brown rice and ony 1 cup mayo. I also added more veges to make it more of a side dish: 1/4 c fresh peas, 1/2 c canned or fresh corn kernals, 1/8 c chopped sun-dried/marinated tomatoes. Everyone asked for this recipe. It was a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I agree...use much less mayo and DO use some of the artichoke marinade. The substitution of red pepper for green is a good one. I don't use the celery. This recipe is great for Celiacs, but if you'd prefer, it's FABULOUS with orzo pasta instead of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States