Artichoke Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I am glad I read the reviews before i made this. I used half of the mayo and doubled the curry. I don't like green peppers so I used a red pepper instead. The taste improves every hour that it is cooling in the refrigerator. I added pine nuts (pignolia) and it made all the difference. It really added some nutty flavor. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
I made this for a tennis team with rave reviews. I changed a few things. I used short grain brown rice (heartier and nutty flavored), red pepper instead of green, because it's more colorful and sweeter and I used 1/2 to 2/3 of the mayo called for. I made it the next day for my best friend and her family (3 kids) and they loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Prepared this for the first time Saturday afternoon (9/23/00) and refrigerated overnight for a small adult-only group Bible study and potluck meal Sunday evening. Many went for second and third helpings. My wife and I thought it tasted great and it was certainly easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I loved this recipe. Against the advice of others, I left out the curry powder, used red peppers instead of green and used regular artichoke hearts and not the marinated ones. I really liked it- I know I changed the recipe around a bit, but I used what I had and it was wonderful. I also used a bit of lime juice to give it that extra kick. I scaled the recipe to 4 servings and ate it all over the course of 2 days. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I have made this salad 4 times and am always asked for the recipe! Always a huge hit. I omit the bell peppers and it still turns out beautifully. After reading the other reviews, I will try less mayo and slightly more curry, though. Thanks Kathy for a fabulous recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
I usually halve the amount of mayo and artichoke marinade, and add a handful of slivered almonds. I always get a lot of requests for the recipe after taking it to a potluck, so I know it's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
a great salad. the combination of ingredients seemed a little odd, but they blend together perfectly. Don't leave out the curry powder, it really does add the perfect extra touch. Next time I'll use a bit less mayonnaise though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
I took the advice of some other reviewers (used 1 cup mayo and 2 jars artichoke hearts) and this salad was terrific! Also, I didn't have any curry powder or parsley, but this salad still had tons of flavor. Oh, and I only used 2-3 green onions instead of 5, and I think that was enough. I will definitely make this again, and next time I'll try it with the curry powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
too much mayonnaise for me... I'd do it again with less... my husband enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This is a great recipe. I took it to church potluck, and everyone mistook it for potato salad! It makes a huge amount though, I will halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States