Artichoke Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Wow! What a surprise to see this salad here. I first made this many years ago (probably 20yrs) after hearing it on the radio on the Jackie Olden cooking show. Her recipe also included a 4oz jar of pimento-stuffed green olives, sliced. When you read the recipe it sounds like an unlikely mix of flavors, but it's really good. It makes a whole bunch though, and it's pretty rich, so I always halved the recipe. Thanks for reminding me of a great recipe. It will surely be on my menu this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I made this for a picnic for a family celebration. It got lots of compliments! I loved the make-ahead ease and the flavor just gets better and better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I loved this recipe. Against the advice of others, I left out the curry powder, used red peppers instead of green and used regular artichoke hearts and not the marinated ones. I really liked it- I know I changed the recipe around a bit, but I used what I had and it was wonderful. I also used a bit of lime juice to give it that extra kick. I scaled the recipe to 4 servings and ate it all over the course of 2 days. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I only was able to refridgerate it for 3 hours before serving. My husband and I did not like it. We each ate a few bites. I down sized the recipie by 2/3rds so that made a nice small amount and only required one jar of artichoke hearts. It might taste better today after being in the refridgerator over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I have made this salad 4 times and am always asked for the recipe! Always a huge hit. I omit the bell peppers and it still turns out beautifully. After reading the other reviews, I will try less mayo and slightly more curry, though. Thanks Kathy for a fabulous recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Very good salad. I think it was even better warm than chilled. I halved the mayonnaise and it worked out great. Could have used more curry powder just for a bit more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
a great salad. the combination of ingredients seemed a little odd, but they blend together perfectly. Don't leave out the curry powder, it really does add the perfect extra touch. Next time I'll use a bit less mayonnaise though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I improved on this recepie by using fresh cilantro instead of parsley and yogurt cheese (yogurt put through a strainer overnight) for the mayo/sour cream. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
I took the advice of some other reviewers (used 1 cup mayo and 2 jars artichoke hearts) and this salad was terrific! Also, I didn't have any curry powder or parsley, but this salad still had tons of flavor. Oh, and I only used 2-3 green onions instead of 5, and I think that was enough. I will definitely make this again, and next time I'll try it with the curry powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States