Artichoke Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I agree...use much less mayo and DO use some of the artichoke marinade. The substitution of red pepper for green is a good one. I don't use the celery. This recipe is great for Celiacs, but if you'd prefer, it's FABULOUS with orzo pasta instead of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was very good (after adjusting the recipe, based on several reviewers' sugestions). I used half the called-for mayonnaise and upped the curry powder by a half. I also substituted red bell pepper for the called-for green (milder flavor and more color). With these couple of tweaks, this recipe will enter my lunch (carry to office) rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Great recipe - I add all kinds of stuff to make it a little different each time. Try half mayo and half light sour cream with the marinade and curry powder for a less "strong" flavor. Add a 5 oz. can of sliced or chopped water chestnuts for crunch. Use the Mahatma yellow saffron rice (use olive oil instead of butter when preparing it). I like red peppers (for their sweetness) instead of green. Have fun, and happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was a different, but good. It's a good change from typical BBQ/potluck salads. I used red pepper instead of the green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Very tasty! I too cut down the mayo, skipped the green pepper and curry powder, and added 1 c of minute white rice (substituting chicken stock for water, microwaved for 5 min) + 1 6oz box of Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice (cooked according to package directions for microwave, using chicken stock for water). Fabulous! The wild rice adds an interesting color to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrphd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was very good...I used a baby yellow, baby orange and baby red bell in place of the green bell. It was a yummy salad, full of crunchy goodies. I. too halved the mayo and doubled the curry. (that suited my tastes just fine) It really matures as it sits in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
PERFECT for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Sliwka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is always a hit!! It keeps well for a couple of days. Makes a good big batch for a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Used red pepper to give it a little color. It is a very good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This is a variation of a favorite recipe. I tried this one to see if I liked the difference, but I discovered the other is easier and tastier. Use two boxes of chicken flavored rice a roni...no green peppers...no celery...and four jars of artichokes instead of three. I bump it up to 1 1/2 tsps curry instead. Put it in the fridge overnight to get it good and cold. Looking at it, people mistake it for potato salad, but I always get raves reviews, except from those who hate curry flavor. Give it a try. It's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States