Artichoke Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Wonderful recipe which I've made frequently over the past several years. I couldn't locate my recipe tonight and wanted to check my memory, so came here. Of course the recipe was on "All Recipes"! My version differs slighty: use (2 boxes) Fried Rice rice-a-roni which gives a nicer texture, use artichoke bottoms so I don't have the problem with thorny leaves etc., save the the marinade to add to the salad, don't care for stuffed olives so use black (these also enhance the appearance of the salad), the key is to use a *good* quality curry powder mixture (experiment with spice blend recipes until you find one whose flavor is just right), omit the bell pepper, use plain Greek yoghurt instead of mayonnaise when I have it on hand and top the salad with pine nuts or pecans. Add diced cooked chicken to leftover salad. Yum! Thanks to the person who suggested couscous! I'm going to try a recipe of that tonight. It seems to me quinoa would also work - just might need to adjust the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epotratz
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I'm always about combining recipes and this one is no exception. I used canned artichokes quartered, Reese brand I like best. Obviously with substituting the canned for the jarred variety meant that I would have to be aware I would need to add more seasonings and flavors. My choice here was to add red pepper, skip the abundance of mayo but I did use a little. Also, I took green onions, and garlic and saute' them in a bit of oil, added chopped red pepper for a few minutes and then added the rice to the pan to perk up it's flavor. Add the curry here so it adheres well to the rice and provides a very nice color. Add 1/2 the liquid that has been heated up in another pan, stir. Then, add the rest of the broth to the rice, stir & bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and cook for 20 minutes. Do not stir the rice anymore(I used Arborio) Mix the artichokes, celery, a bit of coarse salt, parsley, some lemon rind and set aside. When your rice is done you will want to cool it thoroughly before assembling the rest of the ingredients. I took the juice from the canned artichokes & added two heaping tablespoons of mayo, the juice of one lemon, a little salt and made a dressing. When I assembled all the ingredients I put a couple of tablespoons into the mix. Once I was ready to serve I stirred in a handful (1 cup) of baby spinach and finished it off by pouring the mayo dressing mix over the top. Next time I may add a bit of fresh oregano or fresh basil for a little spark of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
nice but a little bland. I used about half the mayo, Brown rice and a little grated carrot, and added a fair bit of lemon juice to liven it up. Claire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I have been looking for a recipe EXACTLY like this for years! It's wonderful, didn't change a thing, except for serving size (just the 2 of us!). Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Initially it seemed like it made way to much dressing until the next morning after having been in the refrigerator overnight, the rice had absorbed much of the dressing so the mixture was a bit on the dry side and the curry flavor was barely there so next time I will use all the mayo mix and double the curry as others suggested. I did prefer it warm as opposed to well chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I was excited to make this recipe because of the great reviews, but I am sad to say that I really didn't like it and nobody else did either. The flavors didn't seem to go together very well. I took it to a potluck and came home with over half of it left; tried to give the rest to my parents but they didn't want it either! The only changes I made were halving the mayo (as so many reviewers suggested) and leaving out the green onions as I didn't realize I was out of them. But I doubt that was enough to change the recipe too much. Oh well, live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is one of my family's favorite recipes, and can be found in the San Francisco a la Carte cook book published by the Junior League of San Francisco in 1979. That version of the recipe suggests adding sliced pimento-stuffed green olives, which is an important addition! Do not, as some have suggested, leave out the curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This salad is even tastier if you add a 1/2 c of chopped green olives. Instead of cooking with chicken stock, use the chicken rice seasoning from chicken flavored rice. Gives it a nice flavor kick! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Not at all appealing to me or my family. l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Good recipe, very different. Most who tried the salad did not realize it was rice in it. I added a little lemon juice, and a little more curry. Decreased the mayo by 1 cup. Everyone liked it and thought it was different. I like the amount it made, we took it to a family dinner and then had a little to eat the next day with grilled chicken. Perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States