Artichoke Hearts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I must admit, I'm not always a fan of Chef John's recipes, but I cannot sing the praises enough on this one. I have made these several times, ever since the video for them was featured well over a year ago. I never knew there was a printed recipe for them! As this recipe's first reviewer I highly recommend them, particularly if you love artichokes as much as I do. (When I was a little girl Santa used to put a jar of marinated artichokes in my Christmas stocking!) The directions are helpful (especially the draining part) and the ingredients spot on. Canned artichokes make these super easy and they can easily be assembled in advance to pop in the oven just before serving. Ever since I discovered these, my array of appetizers would not be complete without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
These were very good!! I was skeptical but they were yummy. The amount of cheese bread crumb topping seemed like a lot when i added it on but it turned out perfect. I used butter instead of olive oil and had no lemon so i just put a little bit of lemon pepper on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
We loved this! I didn't put as much breadcrumbs or cheese as suggested just to try and cut a bit of calories, and it was still fantastic. I did use an Italian blend of cheeses. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made this for a dinner party and everyone (except my husband who doesn't like artichokes) loved it. Will make it again for a party or something. Anything. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was just so-so for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
OMG! We LOVE this recipe. Quick and easy to make. My daughters (20, 18 & 14) were skeptical but after one taste they were big fans!! It has become one of our favorite side dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I really liked this! I tried it on a whim- just for fun. It was really quite good. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I normally love Chef John's recipes, but this one was just ok. It wasn't bad, but didn't have much taste or texture either. Next time I'll try adding more salt and pepper, and maybe substituting garlic-infused oil for regular olive oil. I would also triple the amount of breadcrumbs to try and improve the texture. The recipe itself deserves 3 stars, but I'm adding an extra star because this is a super-fast and convenient recipe that uses items you would already have on hand, and I would definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very simple, cheap and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
DELICIOUS! Who would've guessed that something so simple could taste so good...these hit the spot~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Hearts Gratin

See how to make an easy artichoke hearts appetizer.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States