Artichoke Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is very similar to the recipe that I have used for years. I can't believe this calls for a full CUP of mayo, though! That sounds like complete overkill, and I think the parmesan could be a little much, too. After draining the artichokes - USE REGULAR ARTICHOKE HEARTS IN WATER, two 14oz cans - I usually run a knife through each can several times to give the hearts a rough chop. I've also started using two cans of chilis (don't bother to drain - that's FLAVOR you're putting down the drain!), and the mayo (usually light - fat free is the work of the devil! :p) is eyeballed, but definitely not even half a cup. Start with about a quarter to a third of a cup, stir it up and adjust until it's a fairly loose, creamy consistency - but not gloppy. I usually use about half a 6oz. tub of shredded parmesan, with an extra handful across the top before baking. And don't forget the Wheat Thins - for some reason, that is the accompaniment that tastes the best with this! Enjoy the dip - I guarantee you will crave this version time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This recipe was really oily and mayonaisy, but I did top it with cheddar before baking. I also used Kraft parmesean instead of fresh. I will definately use fresh the next time and omit the cheddar. I will also use about 2/3 the mayo too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This is such a quick and easy, yet delicious recipe! I made it in a ceramic oval baker that has a plastic lid and brought it to a party - it kept warm for several hours and was the hit of the evening! YUMMY! FYI - this doesn't reheat very well in the microwave, the oil separates, so i would try to eat it all at once (which isn't hard!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This recipe is simialr to one I use currently - I add a drained package of frozen spinach and a can of drained sliced water chestnuts - also a bit less mayo and a bit more cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This was really YUMMY!! I also added a little garlic. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This one gets mixed reviews. I thought it was too mayonaisy for me. My dad and brother liked it but no one else ate much of it. I've had better. I'll probably keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Nasty, the mayo was the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I took this to a "Hot Luck" fundraiser party where there were many wonderful spicy dishes submitted into a contest! This dish won 3rd place & it was gone within minutes. I added a little garlic powder & left everything else the same. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It was so greasy - the oil was pooled at the top. I even cut down the amount of mayo based on an earlier review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
This is one of the best artichoke dips I've ever had. I've made it a few times. Careful not to add too many jalapenos as they tend to overpower the artichoke flavor. I'm bringing it to all my holiday parties this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States