Artichoke Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This has become a family favorite. Changed it up a bit and added chopped pickled garlic instead of chilies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.c. Chatham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
We enjoyed the addition of diced green chilies in this version of the classic artichoke dip. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is my all-time favorite recipe for artichoke dip, and it's always a hit! A tip for cutting down on the mayonnaise flavor (and the fat and calories!) is to substitute half of the mayo with fat-free plain greek yogurt; I do this with all mayo-based recipes and it's one of my culinary secret weapons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmd77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Quick, easy, and yummy! Just what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is very similar to the recipe that I have used for years. I can't believe this calls for a full CUP of mayo, though! That sounds like complete overkill, and I think the parmesan could be a little much, too. After draining the artichokes - USE REGULAR ARTICHOKE HEARTS IN WATER, two 14oz cans - I usually run a knife through each can several times to give the hearts a rough chop. I've also started using two cans of chilis (don't bother to drain - that's FLAVOR you're putting down the drain!), and the mayo (usually light - fat free is the work of the devil! :p) is eyeballed, but definitely not even half a cup. Start with about a quarter to a third of a cup, stir it up and adjust until it's a fairly loose, creamy consistency - but not gloppy. I usually use about half a 6oz. tub of shredded parmesan, with an extra handful across the top before baking. And don't forget the Wheat Thins - for some reason, that is the accompaniment that tastes the best with this! Enjoy the dip - I guarantee you will crave this version time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I make this receipe all the time for parties and for snacking. I use articokes in water rather than marinated and I broil it for the last 5 minutes or so and that helps with the greasiness. Also, I have tried using the light mayo and it doesn't work as well. Every party I go to I have requests for this...I LOVE IT! Super easy and makes you look like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Quick, easy and add ons such as roasted garlic or roasted pine nuts would add to the wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINBOWELP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This is really a great dip. I can whip it up so fast and have it in no time for a get together. I use it at all my parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This recipe is really good. The only thing that I would change is that I would cook it longer than is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I've made this exact recipe for years and even folks who HATE artichokes, can't get enough. I did try it with light salad dressing - no good. Forget it! Unfortunately, it needs the fat to make it really really delicious. Very dry made with light salad dressing. I usually double this ... it goes very quickly. Maureen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States