Artichoke Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Wow! What an amazing Artichoke Dip! I followed some of the other dissenters and used Cream of Celery Soup instead of Mayonaise. The thought of that much mayo made me want to vomit. I served this dish to my family with some garlic-buttered Ciabatta bread, and they ate it all! Oh yes, I almost forgot, I boiled fresh spinach from the farmers market and made it into an "Artichoke & Spinach Dip." I also followed some of the other reviewers and their advice to chop up the artichokes as small as possible. Maybe next time I will use fresh artichokes? :) Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valleycook111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
What a hit! Everyone was raving about the dip! I added chopped garlic instead of the powder and saved a handful of mozzarella for the top and sprinkled with creole seasoning! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I substituted the mayonnaise with Cream of Celery, and added a can of diced green chilies. Everyone at the party enjoyed eating this dip with sour dough bread and restaurant style tortilla chips. Next time I make this, I will separate more of the artichokes into pieces, rather than making it chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
It was very good. however, I add chopped shrimp and fresh spinach. It's great with thinly sliced toasted french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
was really good spread on bagel crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
So easy to make and absolutely wonderful to eat! For everyone saying it turns out too greasy, after you remove it from the oven, put a piece of bread on top to absorb the grease, then throw the bread away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Sorry, but this just wasn't that great. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was just way to greasy. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years now and it is always requested by husband for any special event (the super bowl especially). I have made a few changes to this recipe over the years and this is the one that I stick with......I add 1 1/2 tbl of chopped jalapenos and skip the paprika. I always get some good rustic italian bread and cut it into good sized chunks for dipping. Love it, I will be making it this weekend as a matter of fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This recipe seemed suspect to me the first time I used it- but my friend swore by it...So I gave it a shot , and it is perfect as it is. I, however, can't leave well enough alone. I use a combination of light cream cheese and mayo or sour cream at times. I also use fresh garlic, half a clove, in my press. Fresh cracked pepper is a wonderful addition. Also, the majority of flavor comes from the MARINATED artichoke hearts. Using water packed is silly- but if you must: then at least add some italian seasoning and some olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I was really sketchy about this recipe because of all the mayo, but i tried it and EVERYONE loved it. Of course, then i felt weird giving them a recipe that called for so much mayo. It's very rich, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States