Artichoke Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Wonderful, quick, easy appetizer that looks and taste both professional and elegant. After reading through numerous reviews, following are the most common listed changes: 1.) toast the crostini; 2.) add a clove of minced garlic; 3.) less mayo - 2 vs 5 tablespoons; 4.) add tomato; 5.) reduce the red onion to 1/4 cup finely minced or substitute shallots; 6.) top with cheese prior to baking. With or without the changes, this appetizer is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This recipe is awesome! I love it! I've served it at multiple parties, and it's always gone right away. My only tip - lightly toast the bread under the broiler on each side before adding the topping and broiling. The bread holds up much better this way. Otherwise I find that it tends to get a bit soggy. Otherwise, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
These are delicious! This recipe will be a regular on my hors d'ouevres menu. I only used two tablespoons of mayo and added a good splash of olive oil and ground pepper. It was still very creamy, so I think you could get by with just 1 tablespoon of mayo. Also, make sure you use the MARINATED artichoke hearts or these will be bland. These are quick and easy, and a great change from the usual hors d'ouerves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Yum! Yum! YUM!!! This was sooo good. I made it for a potluck at work and everyone was raving about it! I followed the recipe exactly, plus added 1 clove of garlic, 1 totamo, 1 tablespoon of olive oil and then sprinkled parmasean on top. I put all of it in a big bowl and put garlic bagel chips around the bowl for everyone to dip instead of putting it on the bread. Great recipe! Will make over and over! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Gallegos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This was very good. Next time I make it I think I will add a little fresh garlic. Definately toast the bread before topping with the artichoke mixture. I tried it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Very easy and can be made ahead of time. I used parmesan and also added a roma tomato. Next time I may add slivers of frsh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I made this for my annual block party. Everyone loved it! I toasted the bread first then put the topping on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
WOW! These are so good! We made them last night and have vowed to take them to the next party or event so we can impress everyone. We made the receipe exactly as written, however when we do it again we will add some tomatoe's and a black olive to the top of each. I just can't imagine why some reviewers felt that these were bland...the only thing that I can think of is that unmarinated hearts were used. The batch that we made was both full in flavor and delicious. I'm SOOO happy to have found this recipe. Thank you, thank you, thank you Roxanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I'll have to say this was a flavorless dish. Even after I tried to spice it up with some garlic it still tasted pretty bad. I ended up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Awesome, awesome, awesome! I added a couple of chopped tomatoes and some garlic powder, and it was a HUGE hit. I will make it as often as I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Hearts Gratin

See how to make an easy artichoke hearts appetizer.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States