Artichoke and Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
5 Star plus. While this was cooking I was ready to write this one off. So wrong. It is a recipe that I would now use for company - it would be a great, easy meal for a shower or girl's get together since it could be cooked 3/4 way and finished before serving. Like others said, use the amt. of ingredients you like best. I did 50-50 canned diced tomato and artichokes, did add a little garlic, used less peppers (diced very small) and the spices (dried). Also used shredded mozzarella since that's what I had (I wouldn't change that). Also I changed from marinara (I didn't want a heavy sauce) and used Emeril's "Kicked Up Tomato" which was light but spicy which was a hit here! I made angel hair pasta and just spooned the light sauce juices over it and ended up slicing the chicken rolls about 1 1/2" thick which made such a beautiful presentation seeing the stuffing in the middle. I was so disappointed that I wasn't having company to see and experience this dish. A salad and some garlic bread would touch it off nicely. Maggie, thanks so much for inventing this!! THIS IS A KEEPER - AND AN INEXPENSIVE DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
As written a 3.5 or 4* recipe but with a few additions, it turned out great. Actually made this as a topping for some sauteed chicken breasts. Used canned diced tomtoes, added fresh garlic, fresh mozzerella, roasted red peppers instead of fresh, balsamic vinegar and brown sugar. Left out the marinara sauce because I didn't think it was needed in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
We thought this was a keeper recipe but agree with others that it needed some doctoring of the proportions. I sauted three cloves of garlic (minced) with the vegetable mixture. I also mixed feta and mozarella cheeses. I have to say the wonderful aroma while it was baking roused even the teenagers out of their rooms! What I love about this recipe is that you can play around with it and it will still be delicious. A definite "taste as you go" cooking experience. Thanks for sharing it. We will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
this recipe is delicious, i added mushrooms and extra artiokes and garlic. my husband thinks it is the best chicken he has ever eaten. WONDERFUL RECIPE.and quite easy also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I loved this recipe! I used dry seasonings (adjusting the amounts) because I didn't have fresh and added garlic as others suggested. I omited the pasta sauce because it just wasn't necessary and used canned diced tomatoes. I also used marinated artichoke hearts for extra flavor and chopped them very tiny so the kids wouldn't know what they were eating! I made sure to use fresh mozarella since that is one thing I really enjoy. Sometimes it's the little things that make a dish special. I spooned all the leftover filling on top of the stuffed chicken breasts as there was quite a bit left over. This was a very flavorful dish. I served it on a bed of angelhair pasta and my husband commented that it looked like a pricey dish at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I made this once with the vegetables under the chicken & once with them on top. I thought it just came out too watery, maybe because of the juices from the chicken. Perhaps it would be better if it was baked without the marinara sauce. The chicken then could be taken out of the liquid & the marinara could be added just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe was GREAT!! I added some garlic, and reduced the tomatoes, just too much for the stuffing. Next time I will omit the marinara sauce, and just add some more tomatoes to the top. The sauce overpowered all the other great flavors in the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caribou, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
5 STARS!!this was excellent! I added two cloves of garlic while sauteeing 3 tomatoes and canned diced tomatoes(roasted garlic flavor)and added some onion and GREEN bell pepper for color.I also used marinated artichokes which I think gave it extra flavor!Not only was this a colorful,flavorful dish,my husband truly thinks I'm a real chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darlingmkt
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Great recipe. I added some fresh spinach, sun dried tomatoes, and colorful bell peppers to the mix before filling the chicken breasts. Served with cheese ravioli. It was fantastic. See my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlingmkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My advice is to brown and then simmer on stove top if you have time...anywhere from one hour to 3....first with lid on then off for last part to reduce liquid...I added a tiny bit of sherry to the pot...made the flavour richer...the sauce was thicker..I used goya tomato sauce and seasoned it...some diced peppers in sauce as well....Add a bit of 1/2 and 1/2 if you like a thicker sauce. Play with it! Serve over rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States