Artichoke and Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was very good! Only change I made was to cover with some mozzarella and omit the peppers. For marinara, I used the Best Marinara Sauce Yet recipe from this site. Also, served the remaining marinara over spaghetti noodles as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
5 Star plus. While this was cooking I was ready to write this one off. So wrong. It is a recipe that I would now use for company - it would be a great, easy meal for a shower or girl's get together since it could be cooked 3/4 way and finished before serving. Like others said, use the amt. of ingredients you like best. I did 50-50 canned diced tomato and artichokes, did add a little garlic, used less peppers (diced very small) and the spices (dried). Also used shredded mozzarella since that's what I had (I wouldn't change that). Also I changed from marinara (I didn't want a heavy sauce) and used Emeril's "Kicked Up Tomato" which was light but spicy which was a hit here! I made angel hair pasta and just spooned the light sauce juices over it and ended up slicing the chicken rolls about 1 1/2" thick which made such a beautiful presentation seeing the stuffing in the middle. I was so disappointed that I wasn't having company to see and experience this dish. A salad and some garlic bread would touch it off nicely. Maggie, thanks so much for inventing this!! THIS IS A KEEPER - AND AN INEXPENSIVE DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This was a good dish and nice change of pace. I love tomatoes and artichokes, so it definitely appealed to me. The only changes I made were to used canned diced tomatoes (drained) and to leave out the cheese since my son is allergic to dairy. I cut the amount of the artichoke-tomato stuffing down a little and still had a little too much to roll in the breasts, so I just tossed the rest in around the chicken rolls. My husband and I both enjoyed this, but I think it could use a little something (which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5) - maybe some garlic or even salt & pepper. I think I'll try adding both next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I made this once with the vegetables under the chicken & once with them on top. I thought it just came out too watery, maybe because of the juices from the chicken. Perhaps it would be better if it was baked without the marinara sauce. The chicken then could be taken out of the liquid & the marinara could be added just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This is awesome!! Everyone loved it and it's easy to make. I also added feta cheese and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
5 STARS!!this was excellent! I added two cloves of garlic while sauteeing 3 tomatoes and canned diced tomatoes(roasted garlic flavor)and added some onion and GREEN bell pepper for color.I also used marinated artichokes which I think gave it extra flavor!Not only was this a colorful,flavorful dish,my husband truly thinks I'm a real chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Great recipe! Very tasty. I did modify the recipe a bit, however. I added garlic, salt and pepper as well as crumbled feta cheese. The vegetables I doubled and put the extra veggies on top of the breasts with the marinara sauce. We gobbled them up! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This chicken was really great! My hubby doesn't like artichokes-- but I love them- so I got to "sneak" them past him in this one. I added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Excellent. I changed the recipe slightly. Two tomatoes instead of four. One can of Del Monte Diced tomatoes Zesty Green Chili recipe. More artichokes. Season salt and crushed black peppercorns. Had to cook approximately an hour. Herbs directly out of the garden. Everything else the same. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
this recipe is delicious, i added mushrooms and extra artiokes and garlic. my husband thinks it is the best chicken he has ever eaten. WONDERFUL RECIPE.and quite easy also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States