Artichoke and Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Wow! This was a nice surprise. Like others, I made some adjustments. Because I was using a homemade (very thick) tomato sauce (which already had herbs), I went light on the seasoning. I also used shredded mozzarella, and fewer fresh tomatoes than the recipe calls for. My dear boyfriend is always raving and using superlatives about my cooking -- but he said that this one tops them all! I was pleasantly surprised to see that the "cheesy stuffing" didn't pour out of the chicken roulade while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was good. Kinda like a cooked Caprese salad with chicken. I cut up the chicken and browned it, then followed the recipe rather than rolling it to speed up the prep/cooking time. It was good on top of pasta. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
The only negative about this recipe is it took 1 hour 15 minutes to cook (5 minutes in microwave at the end). We made as directed and had a lot of extra "filling", so just poured that around the chicken. It tasted wonderful & this will certainly be made many more times in the future. Next time, however, I will not do the roll-up stuffed chicken. I will either cut the chicken in bite size pieces and cook it in the tomato mixture or leave as whole chicken breast and pour the mixture over top. I may add the garlic as reviewers have suggest, as well. Although it took longer than expected to bake, it was well worth the wait. I served with thin slices of toasted Asiago Garlic Bread with a vegetable of baked potato and raw baby carrots (salad would have been a great addition, as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I added garlic as suggested and this was fabulous! We really enjoyed it. Only had four chicken breasts so we baked the leftover vegetables in a casserole and it was wonderful along with the chicken! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
It seemed to be lacking something. It also had an overwhelming bell pepper taste. Not a big fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Excellent, i used extra artichokes and it came out great. I used chicken thighs but next time I will use breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michavissar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This was really good! Kind of surprised really but WoW! I would do this again. I added garlic and chopped the chicken breasts up into bite size pizza then poured the red peppers, artichoke hearts, garlic, basil, oregeno over it. Then I topped it with cheese and baked away! Great easy, tasty dish! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Northbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Just like so many other reviewers, I added minced garlic (two cloves) to the vegetable mixture, and used yellow peppers instead of red. I was saving my fresh tomatoes for a salad, so I used petite diced canned tomatoes instead. I don't know if using fresh tomatoes would make much of a difference. It was very tasty and quite simple to prepare. I served it on a bed of spiral pasta, with a simple green salad on the side. Got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This turned out great! I left out the red pepper, added some garlic and used italian canned diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Great idea! I took some other people's suggestions and changed it a bit myself. Instead of regular tomatoes, I used sundried tomatoes. I used marinated artichokes and shredded mozzarella, asiago and romano cheeses. It was delicious. Next time, though, I will only cook it for about 30 minutes. Since I didn't use the marinara sauce, the chicken was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States