Artichoke and Spinach Swirls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a great recipe. I did not have any artichokes or spinich, so I substituted a small jar of sun dried tomatoes in oil (drained and then chopped in food processor)and a half cup of softened cream cheese. I took these to a tea and they were gobbled up. I was initially intimidated by the idea of rolling and slicing the puff pastry, but it was very simple. I do suggest that you moisten the edges of the pastry and pinch together when you seal up the roll-otherwise the pastry might come open and leak filling while it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this recipe when I met my boyfriend's family at a Christmas Eve party. I followed the suggestion to substitute sour cream for the mayo, and I used a full cup of the sour cream. I also used Pillsbury crescent rolls cut in half and rolled into mini crescents stuffed with the dip. They were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
These are SO GOOD!!! I used sour cream instead of mayo (much better I say)...I was only able to get 20 out of this, but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These had a great taste. Instead of rolling it, I cut the puff pastry into 9 squares and made pastry triangles with the filling inside. I may use a little less artichoke and little more spinach next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were a hit! SO yummy! A bit messy to make, but well worth it! I used two packages of fresh spinach and sautéed it, then used a strainer to drain the liquid. Used 1 part mayonnaise and 3 parts sour cream (instead of the ½ cup mayo. Both together give it very nice flavor!) Added ¼ cup goat cheese to shredded parmesan. Make sure the pastry is thawed so you can roll it, but work fast with it, as the warmer it gets; the harder it is to cut. Use a sharp knife! Be sure not to overfill the pastry, as it will ooze out on the final rolls, and will be more difficult to cut and keep together for the transfer to the baking pan. But if you underfill, you’ll just get pastry, so try to find the perfect balance. Baked some standing up, some lying down, and they all baked up fine. SO good! A MUST for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keilypie
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These came out so pretty. I made them for a holiday party and was so proud to show up with them. They were very tasty too. I got 30 out of the recipe, but only 28 made it to the party :) I had to use my sharpest knife and be careful to cut them 1/2 inch. I did pinch the seam together well before slicing and they stayed together just fine. Next week I am going to another gathering and I will bring these too. I am going to do a mushroom artichoke goat cheese filling. I think you can get as creative as you want with these. What fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very tasty! I would want to try to make them smaller than I did. They were about 5 bites apiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great recipe, simple and went over very well. I did have to change some things because where I live we don't have a lot of the prepackaged foods (and I'm happy for that!). I used fresh spinach, garlic and onion. I also used hearts of palm because artichokes come and go where I live too. The puff pastry was also fresh made from a pastry shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraht1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These really were spectacular. Just DELICIOUS. I took them to an event and everyone wanted the recipe! I did do the half sour cream/half mayo as suggested and I threw in some feta cheese as well. Then on a whim the other night, I decided to make them for dinner - so I increased the sour cream/mayo to 3/4 cup and added in about 1.5 cups of finely chopped chicken breast. I also added 1/3 cup parmesan cheese and 1/3 cup feta. I cut them a little thicker (made 24 out of the recipe) and baked them a little big longer, but they were FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as written and the filling tasted too bland before baking. Some adjustments are definitely needed. I added maybe half a teaspoon of salt. Don't go crazy with this - parmesan cheese already has salt in it, so don't go adding a tablespoon or anything. To give it some kick, I put in a couple dashes of cayenne pepper. Made it pop nicely. I also added a roasted red pepper, diced up, as some of the other reviewers suggested. The end result tasted great, but not out-of-this-world incredible. Would probably make again. Tips: Use a sharp serrated knife for cutting into 1/2" chunks. Freeze for 20+ minutes before cutting, but don't let it get rock solid as this would adversely affect your baking time. Even if the center doesn't look cooked, as long as the edges are golden brown it is probably done. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonytahoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Incline Village, Nevada, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States