Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This dip was a big hit. My husband took it to work and THEY DEVOURED IT! It was gone before it got cold. First of all, the recipe says to "spread" the ingredients into the baking dish. VERY IMPORTANT: Mix them well in a bowl first, then spread them into the baking dish. This is not a layered dish. It will not look "presentable" if there are chunks of ingredients all over the place. I used real roasted garlic. It isn't really a big step, and it does make a difference. You won't have difficulty peeling the soft garlic if you pound on the clove with the side of a wide knife. It comes right out. I also followed other suggestions and used a whole package of cream cheese. I used Bertolli alfredo sauce & it doesn't have a metallic flavor like other store bought sauces can have. Next time I make it, I'll keep it warm in my electric crock pot (If it lasts that long). Edited to add: I made little filo dough cups in a mini muffin tin. I filled them with this dip that I heated in the microwave. I topped them with shredded asiago & romano cheese and melted it in the oven for about 4 min. I topped them with chopped tomatoes & they were a real HIT! For the filo dough cups: Layer 3 sheets of filo dough with cooking spray between each layer. Cut into, 18 squares. Put each square into mini muffin tins and bake for 5-7 min at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
767 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I've been making this recipe for several years, it's great! I use garlic powder (1 tsp) and usually leave out the artichokes and just use spinach. I use a 15 oz jar of alfredo sauce, 2 cups of mozzerella, about 1/2 cup Parmesan, and an entire 8 oz. pkg of cream cheese. I don't layer the ingredients, just stir everything together, pour in a casserole and bake till bubbly. I serve it with slices of hot, crunchy garlic toast. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
652 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This is absoultely DELICIOUS. I serve it with pita triangles. I've made it about 6 times since I got the recipe a few months ago, and each time my guests all agree that it's better than what you get in the restaurants. I go ahead and use the whole cream cheese package just to make it easier. I also mix up all the cheeses to make it easier to put in the pan, and I heat the cream cheese a bit in the microwave to soften and make it easier to mix. Yummm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was absolutely phenomenal! My guests never left the buffet table..... I usually use a Garlic Alfredo sauce for extra flavor. For a little kick, try adding a tsp of hot sauce to the mix prior to baking it. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
EXCELLENT DIP!!! I tried an artichoke spinach dip recipe once before and my husband told me that I should never touch an artichoke again :). I tried this recipe and his eyes literally lit up! This recipe was so easy to make, that I couldn't believe it. I used store bought garlic that was already chopped and also added a little extra salt. (I eliminated the need to bake garlic first and just mixed the garlic in with all the other ingredients). It truly tasted like an Applebee's dip....or even better. My entire prep. time was approx. 5 minutes. The suggested cook time was absolutely perfect. My husband asked me to make this recipe for the next food day at his job!!!! This is truly a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
AWESOME IS AN UNDERSTATMENT!!!!!!!!!! I have made this many times and after a few modifications Ive found perfect recipe. FRESH GARLIC is a must dont use minced this is what makes it so flavorful the extra time is worth it. I use the entire package of cream cheese and an entire bottle of Alfredo 15 oz. Mix everything very well to get the best blend. Finding the right cooking time was tricky I cook about 15 minutes longer but pull out and check often to find your favorite consistency. I actually like this recipe better the second day its SUPER YUMMY best recipe I have ever gotten online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I made this for a SuperBowl party. Due to the other reviews, I used slightly less spinach and artichokes. Be sure to use Alfredo sauce from the refridgerated section. I think some people are using the jarred kind which has a different taste and consistancy (at least to me). It came out wonderful, and went quickly. No leftovers at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Springdale, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I kept this in a crock pot for a buffet and added whole milk a few times to maintain texture. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe and is very similar to a good one I have in my recipe box. I made this dip last FRI for the family and we all loved it and felt like we are eating out at home. The only change I made in the recipe is to skip roasted garlic part and use whole jar 16oz of CLASSICO’s Roasted Garlic Alfredo sauce and I mixed all the ingredients in a casserole dish before I put it in the oven. To turn this recipe into a gourmet dish, you can add one pound of small shrimp. Very good recipe and very easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCKBRLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Oh, this was great! I made it for christmas eve appetizers and my husband and I practically ate the whole thing in one sitting. The only thing I would change is I would not get the marinated artickoes again. They were too salty and I would also chop them up. I didn't care too much for the big chunks of artickokes. I also took some of the others advice and mixed all the cheeses and the sauce together and used the whole thing of cream chesse. I also added some pepper and garlic to the cheese mixture. Then I put mozzerella on top. For the cheese mixture I used an italian mix of cheese. Also, next time I make it I will mix everything together. I like it that way. thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States