Arroz Tapado (Rice-On-Top) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I really like the idea of this recipe, but the meat was really bland. I just happened to be making chicken noodle soup at the same time so I kept adding the broth from my soup to the meat mixture, because I also did not want to fry the potatoes. I added the potatoes at the same time as the carrots. I cut the potato up in really small cubes and added the chicken broth. I put in some garlic salt and some creole seasoning to give the meat more flavor. Without adding the broth, garlic salt and creole seasoning the meat would have been really bland. As someone has already said, if you are on a low sodium diet then this would be a good recipe, otherwise it is better with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Overall, this was a fun and pretty ethnic dish to make. I think that because of the amount of rice, the flavor was just a bit bland and that the meat mixture would be better with more peanut butter and maybe some extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Something new, fun, & tasty for the whole family! You can make your own flavorful design with a "saucy" topping, some of us used hot sauce, others used soy...to each his own & boy was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HottLikeSalsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was good but I felt the cumin was too present in the taste. This was really just arroz con picadillo with a pretty presentation. A nice spin on making this look nice though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Letohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was an easy weeknight dinner. I had leftover beef to use up (ground it in the food processor), and many of the ingredients here are pantry staples. Having said that I didn't have cumin and substituted chili powder. I'd probably put more potato in next time - I loved the crunchy touch it added. I used a 9 inche cake pan, and wasn't going to flip it thinking it wouldn't come out. It did, though - and it was pretty! I even flipped the leftovers (there are just two of us) back into the cake plate. Mission accomplished: something different from beef leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was really super good! I added some salt to the rice as suggested by other reviewers. I also forgot to add the potatoes, so I just put them on top. I dont like ketchup so we didnt use that. Really yummy and cool looking recipe. Not very hard to make either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This will become a regular in our house! Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was great! I used fake burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I loved this recipe, hubby and kids only liked it, so 4/5 from me. It sure is easy, and I think the flavor is excellent! Plus it is a fun presentation and something really different for a weeknight. I often have hardboiled eggs ready to go in the fridge and that cuts prep time down to 'long enough to cook rice and smash it in a bowl,' about 30 minutes. Hubby found this dish to be on the plain side for his taste and ended up adding fish oil and chili oil and stirring it in (ew, but whatever, he had to eat it) and said that made it fantastic. I appreciate the opportunity to try this out and I will love eating the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was a hit. I have a very picky husband. I followed the recipe to the tee. However, I was a little aprehensive to adding the peanut butter, I thought it was a little unusaual, and I knew that he doesn't like peanut butter. But nontheless, he loved it and this was a great recipe. Make sure you have enough time to create this wonderful dish. It does take a lot out of you, but it is well worth it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States