Arroz Rojo (Mexican Red Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Delicious! Like some others, I also broiled and peeled the tomatoes. Everything turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I've made so many different recipes for rice & this has to be the best by far. The rice was perfectly cooked through without being mushy at all or too firm. The only alteration I made was add 1/2 c of chopped green bell pepper & 1/2 c of chopped red bell pepper to the onion mixture. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I haven’t made Mexican rice in awhile, so maybe my memory is foggy, but I’m not sure I’ve ever made a Mexican rice recipe quite this good. Rather than trying to grate a tomato, I simply blanched it which made the peel come off easily, then just chopped it up very fine. Scaling this down to two servings meant I had to improvise on the tomato sauce – I wasn’t about to open a can for a mere tablespoon or two. For those who might find themselves in the same situation, I used half the measurement in tomato paste and water instead and it obviously worked out great because this was simply delicious. Worth seriously considering for your go-to Mexican rice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Alana Kadas
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I've tried a few Mexican red rice recipes and this has been my favorite by far. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was amazing. I wanted to eat the whole pot. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana Kadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was delicious.Tasted like the rice they serve at Mexican Restaurants. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Burk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmcgr05
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This recipe was easy to create and loved by my whole family. I really like using fresh ingredients. I used 2 medium jalapeños, 3 sprigs of cilantro and one extra Roma tomato. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. The rice was pleasingly "hot" and very tasty. I highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Loved this rice!!! Reminded me of the Mexican rice at restaurants back home (we are currently stationed in Germany). Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meloakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great rice recipe. I used Pato tomato sauce instead of regular for a little extra kick. I also don't usually pick recipes with a low amount of ratings but I'm glad that I tried this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love this! I've used it so many times! For those of you wondering, the Roma's equal about 1/2 a cup. If you use crushed tomatoes, drain then, and strain them they work perfectly! I live in a seven person family, three of the kids barely eat anything (especially green things and veggies) but they love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This looked pretty in the dish but turned out dry when served at a Mexican-themed party. Not sure what I would do differently next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States