Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was very good. I took the advice of a few previous reviewers. Before browning seasoned with Goya adobo, Reduced onion down to 1 and increased garlic to 4. I did not use the boullion cubes I increased beer to 1 1/4 cup and used 1 1/2 cups chicken broth. 1 cup of frozen peas instead of canned. Baked covered at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. Flavor was very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I always saute the uncooked rice just until it becomes translucent.This way, it holds a nice texture throughout the simmering process. This recipe is best, subbing chicken broth for tomato sauce and using frozen peas rather than canned. Top with cheese for a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The end result of this recipe was a great tasting meal. However, I had to add 1 1/2 cups of water to the dish because the rice did not cook at all just using the ingredients listed. After adding the additional water, I extended the cooking time by 15 mins., with the pan covered, and it cooked the rice. In the future, I will add the water and cook just as I would any rice dish, covered and for about 20 mins. on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
Thank you Sussell for sharing your recipe. I grew up loving the Cuban Arroz con Pollo, but never fixed it myself. I don't remember the tomato sauce in it, so I left that out and used chicken broth in its place. Baked it in the oven at 350 for 1 1/2 hours. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This recipe is not written very clearly. Based on the recipe as written there is not nearly enough liquid for the amount of rice. It appears that the bouillion cubes need to be dissolved in water then added. The extra 2 cups of liquid would have made a huge difference, as would covering the pan. Additionally, it says to drain the peas, then add them with the liquid. The taste was good, but as written it is a disaster. Probably would benefit from a bit of cilantro as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I have eaten at a Cuban restaurant in Orange, California that features this plate. I followed the recipe to a tee and this came out just like what I had at this wonderful little restaurant on the circle in Orange. I give this the highest rating because of the taste and because 6 members of my family had there mouth watering for more. By the way, I am a 49 year old male who enjoys to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This is a great authentic Cuban recipe. I did add a little water to it and cook it covered so the flavors were not as strong as Cuban arroz con pollo usually is. I also left out the peas and pimenton for the kids who found this to be a huge hit! I served it with fresh bread, a green salad and red wine. Next time I will make the maduros to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was great! I seasoned the chicken with a little bit of onion powder and salt and pepper and I used chicken breasts instead (that's what I had) and paprika instead of saffron for color and it was great!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This recipe is REALLY good. My husband and my 15-month-old son gobbled it up. I omitted the beer and used chicken broth instead. Seasoned the chicken with adobo before browning it and I too covered it and let it simmer for approx. 20 mins. I have no idea how that rice would have cooked other wise. I think next time, I'll only use 1 bullion cube to ease up on the saltiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
This was very good, I loved it! I didn't have any beer but subtituted chicken broth and no saffron but I used some Goya Sazon to season the chicken with and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States