Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This recipe is REALLY good. My husband and my 15-month-old son gobbled it up. I omitted the beer and used chicken broth instead. Seasoned the chicken with adobo before browning it and I too covered it and let it simmer for approx. 20 mins. I have no idea how that rice would have cooked other wise. I think next time, I'll only use 1 bullion cube to ease up on the saltiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I always saute the uncooked rice just until it becomes translucent.This way, it holds a nice texture throughout the simmering process. This recipe is best, subbing chicken broth for tomato sauce and using frozen peas rather than canned. Top with cheese for a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
I followed past reviews and left out the tomato and instead of beer, used chix stock. Anyhow, this was mediocre at best. My sister, who usually isn't hard please said, "Eww, the rice tastes FUNKY!". Chicken was plain, rice was whatever, smelled nice, tasted otherwise. And to think I wasted saffron on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
like everyone else said it's horribly written, but it turned out fan-frickin-tastic with a few modifications. i added 1.5 c chicken broth, some other veggies, and i covered it so the rice would cook right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I didn't like this recipe much. It was waaay too sweet for my taste. I think the sweet juice from the peas may have been too much in combo with the tomato sauce. I did not have saffron, so I am not sure how much this would affect the overall flavor. I gave it 3 stars because I thought it would be a good dish for someone who likes this sort of dish sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This recipe was wonderfully tasty. I made it for a group of friends and it was a hi! I will definitely make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This was Great! The flavor is wonderful. Our family loves this dish. I have made this many times but lost my recipe. I was glad to find it here on your site. It was really close to my origional. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Great taste, but took longer to cook the rice than 10 minutes. We use CalRose rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I did as suggested and covered after adding the rice. I also used diced tomatoes instead of sause. Came out very good. I will definately make this again and recommend. LISA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This recipe is not written very clearly. Based on the recipe as written there is not nearly enough liquid for the amount of rice. It appears that the bouillion cubes need to be dissolved in water then added. The extra 2 cups of liquid would have made a huge difference, as would covering the pan. Additionally, it says to drain the peas, then add them with the liquid. The taste was good, but as written it is a disaster. Probably would benefit from a bit of cilantro as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States