Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Pretty good, but I liked my Chilean neighbor's version of this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Excellent. Delicious flavor. I made some of the same changes as everyone else with chicken broth substituted for beer. Since I omitted the bouillon it was not too salty. I didn't add all 15 ounces of frozen peas because it seemed like too much. I used chicken drumsticks. YUM! Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
this was very easy and very good. i made several changes though. i didn't add the beer. and i just added a whole red pepper. i used 2 cups already cooked white rice(leftover in the fridge) and i added some mushrooms, and 1 carrot. i also halved the recipe, i only used 3 chicken thighs. i also added some fresh cilantro. it was very good with these changes, but i'm sure it would be just as wonderful without them. it is a great recipe, and it was very cheep to make. i highly recomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Skipped the peas and made the rice on the side. Excellent! Even the picky eater went back for 3rds. Great dish, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Oh my goodness!! This was a wonderful meal. I wouldn't change a thing. I used "fresh" saffron and it made the dish have such a wonderful taste - well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I didn't have a whole chicken just a very large boneless breast. I cut the breast up and sauted it and used it instead. It worked just fine. I would have preferred to have had dark meat for the flavor but the breast I get from my butcher is top quality and worked well. Everyone liked this in my family including my son who does not like rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I used thighs and added mushrooms. Did not use saffron or the juice from the peas. Also, one cup of beer was not enough to cook the rice so I added 1 can of chicken broth and this dish turned out fantastic. I served with plantains (yummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
We liked this recipe and I will add it to our rotation. Like others I added additional water (1.5 cups) to help the rice cook. Also, I did't have saffron. Not sure if I can get it in these parts. This makes for a good weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight. I doubled the recipe and used chicken broth as another person recommended. It was very good, but very greasy. Could it be because I left the skin on the chicken? I don't know but this may be less greasy with just boneless/skinless chicken breasts. Will try again with boneless/skinless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Duvall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This dish was delicious! I used the saffron rice someone suggested and I used 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth and it came out beautifully. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkville, New York, USA
Living In: New York Mills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pasta con le Sarde

See how to make simple pasta with sardines and fennel.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States