Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
My rice took about 10 extra minutes to cook through, but other than that I made this recipe exactly as is. The only thing that I wished was better was the chicken. I thought that it would pick up some of the flavor with being cooked in the stew, but it ended up being pretty bland. Overall though the rice stew was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SL
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This can be a 5 star dish with a few variations. I use 4 lbs of chicken marinate in a 1 TB of red wine vinegar, ` tsp oregano, 1tsp cumin and 1 tsp coriander for about 20 min. after marinatiing I salt and pepper each side and pan fry in a 3 TB olive oil until each side is browned. I remove the chicken and I make a sofrito with onions, red bell bepper, and 1 roasted chile. After a few minutes I add back the chicken and add 1 diced tomato, 1 small can tomato sauce, 1 cup white wine, 1 can of beer, and 3 cups chicken stock. Season with addtl salt if needed. I bring to boil and simmer for 15 min covered. Then I add 2 1/2 cups rice and cover simmered until rice is done about 20 min. With fried plantains om the side, delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
We thought this was a great recipe; however, I did make some changes, but I'm sure the original was just as good. We don't cook with alcohol, so I substituted chicken broth instead. I also added a whole red pepper and a poblano pepper and finished it with some cilantro and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taputah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this with boneless skinless chicken breasts, frozen peas instead of canned, and used Goya Sazon in place of the saffron I didn't have. The chicken was tender, and the flavor was very good; I will definitely make it again. But I wish I had read the reviews before making this dish. This recipe is poorly written. After preparing it, I can only assume that the chicken bouillon cubes were meant to be dissolved in two cups of water, as the rice clearly needed more liquid to cook. I added some part way through the cook time, but it was too little, too late, and the rice was a little undercooked when I served the dish. I did cover the dish while cooking the rice, although that wasn't specified. Had I not done that, I think the rice would have been too crunchy to eat. As I mentioned, I used frozen peas in place of canned, and they worked out fine. But clearly, another flaw with the recipe was the description of how the peas are to be used. The ingredients specify that the can of peas is to be drained, but doesn't specify to reserve the liquid. Later, the recipe instructs to use the liquid from the peas. I think if this recipe were properly written, the results from following it would be outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was pretty good though a little bland. Will try to spice it up a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Really delicious, with less black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe has been in my box for the last 18 months when last night, not knowing what to make for dinner I decided to finally try it. OMG! This is so delicious! The aroma while it's cooking is mouth watering and the flavor is wonderful! I have to ask myself why it took me so long to try it when I could have enjoying it for all these months! The only thing I did not add is the green bell peppers since I had none. YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was very good. The flavor is complex, interesting and delicious. All of the prep dishes can be done while this cooks in the fry pan so final clean up after dinner is very easy. I didn't have white wine so I used red and only had one bunch of cilantro. Used 1 extra clove of galic and two Jalepeno peppers, it turned out great and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This dish was great! Almost as good as my close friend's grandmother's arroz con pollo and she's from Cuba!! I added the rice, about 1 cup of water, a whole bottle of beer and the canned peas (with liquid) at the same time and then let cook on low for about 20 minutes. I stirred every once in a while to ensure I got that risotto, think consistency. This was sooo delish! I'm definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Pretty good, but I liked my Chilean neighbor's version of this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States