Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
OUTSTANDING! I used 5 extra-large chicken thighs (4 lbs.) and the result was heavenly. I used 2 14-oz. cans of chicken broth and 1/4 oil for browning. In the future, I plan to use less broth and 2 tablespoons oil since the browned chicken adds fat. You may want to bake it initially for only 1 hour for firmer chicken. I baked it for 1 1/2 hours as called for so that the meat would be falling off the bone which is how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was quite good. I made 1/2 the recipe for just my husband and I. I used 1/2 a chicken bouillon cube with 1.5 c water to make the broth. I added 1/2 tsp ground cumin to the spices, which I know made it taste even better. I'm saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My Honduran husband didn't talk the whole time he was eating this! ant thats saying alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I'm African American and my husband is Puerto Rican. I am always cooking recipes that my mother in law taught me. I decided to try this one tonight, and it's came out fantastico! My husband said it taste like back home! I will definitely make this agsim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I have made this twice in the past 2 weeks. My husband is very picky and also on a health kick, and I feel this recipe fit the bill for him. I used chicken breasts and brown rice and cut the salt and oil for browning. I also added a generous spoonful of cumin because we love that flavor. Don't skip the raisins! I thought they sounded a little odd but they added a wonderful sweet kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this for a fathers day dinner for my family. I didn't use raisins only because I and my father do not like them. Im sure it would have given it a sweet bite so I was thinking it was going to taste a bit bland without them but it was absolutely excellent! Definitly going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I made this yesterday and it was wonderful. I used butter (instead of oil)to brown 8 chicken thighs (instead of cutting up a whole chicken). When I make this recipe again, I will skin the thighs and drain most of the drippings before cooking the onion mixture in them. I ended up with a lot of grease in the bottom of my dutch oven. I'd make this dish for guests. It was tasty and colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Made this last night for dinner. Simple easy recipe that taste wonderful. Made a full recipe (for 8 servings) and my wife and I finished about half last night and had the left overs for lunch. Tastes just like the Arroz con Pollo I used to get in Panama City and Colon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States