Arroz con Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I am cuban and I have made this recipe a couple of times already... but I always feel like its missing something! Its not like all the cuban restaurants I go to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this last night and it is delicious. Its sweeter than what I'm used to so i might used a little less condensed milk next time. I used long grain rice instead of short grain so I'm not sure if that's why it came out extra sweet but still delicious. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I live in Mexico. I served this to our seminary students over the Christmas holiday. They loved it! It felt great to receive such a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEKLIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I like my rice pudding thick, so I reduced it a little more than normal. Don't worry if it looks too watery at first, the rice will soak it all up. As for the comment regarding condensed milk. Use it (one can should be enough)! Rich and sweet is what rice pudding should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
As an American who typically loves ethnic foods, I was not a big fan of this. I like creamy rice pudding, but I think the condensed milk in this recipe didn't go well with the rice. Two of my family members and a close friend also tried it and didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I thought this was really good, though I next time I will used more condensed milk for a creamier, sweeter pudding. I am Cuban and grew up on incredible arroz con leche and this is the closest I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Excellent, authentic-tasting recipe. Reminded me of arroz con leche I've eaten in Peru. I couldn't really taste the lime, however, so I added some fresh lime juice to the finished product. I couldn't find star anise in the store, but I didn't find that using a cinnamon stick added more flavor than using ground cinnamon. Next time I'll use ground spices to save time without compromising flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Mmmm... Que RICO!!! This rice pudding was creamy, delicious, and simple. I omitted the lemon and anise because I didn't have any. I also swapped evaporated milk for regular milk and it still turned out great. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
EXCELLENT! Just like my grandmother use to make. I am also Cuban, and I have been searching for an "Arroz con Leche" recipe like this one for a very long time. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States