Arroz con Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I grew up with this dish. So I had great expectations. I followed this recipe to a tee. Don’t know if there is a difference between the Cuban version and the Mexican version but this dish was a bit too sweet for my taste. I'll share my beloved mother’s recipe for those who prefer a mildly sweet rice dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthNut Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Skipped the whole 1st step and just used 3 or 31/2 cups pre-cooked rice. Then used 1/2c cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup of water for 2nd part and didnt have cinnamon stick so used 1 t cinnamon instead.completely omited anise and lemon. (never had to strain the mixture). never pulled out a second saucepan, just left the cinnamon milk mixure in sauce pan and after boiling 3 minutes, i added the evap milk and condensed milk and 1 teaspoon cornstarch and heated that till thick. once thick i added the vanilla and salt in addition to 2tbs butter (that just melted itslef into the hot mixure). wouldve been awesome w/ the raisins (just didnt have any) and can be sprinkled w/ sugar (if like it sweeter) and milk (if like it thinner). This was super good even though i changed it up a lot. my family kept fighting for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
"kiki-tastic" it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCheng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My Husband loved it! I didn't have anise, lime, or raisins. Still came out very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Like all other cooks, we change what we may. I replaced cloves for the anise seeds. Great recipe, will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I am cuban and I have made this recipe a couple of times already... but I always feel like its missing something! Its not like all the cuban restaurants I go to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this last night and it is delicious. Its sweeter than what I'm used to so i might used a little less condensed milk next time. I used long grain rice instead of short grain so I'm not sure if that's why it came out extra sweet but still delicious. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I live in Mexico. I served this to our seminary students over the Christmas holiday. They loved it! It felt great to receive such a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEKLIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I like my rice pudding thick, so I reduced it a little more than normal. Don't worry if it looks too watery at first, the rice will soak it all up. As for the comment regarding condensed milk. Use it (one can should be enough)! Rich and sweet is what rice pudding should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
As an American who typically loves ethnic foods, I was not a big fan of this. I like creamy rice pudding, but I think the condensed milk in this recipe didn't go well with the rice. Two of my family members and a close friend also tried it and didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States