Arroz con Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Great recipe! I am Mexican and this desert is very much what we call back home "dulce de arroz con leche", its different from mexican arroz con leche since the latter one it's more like a hot drink kind of like "atole". Both of them delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I made this for a spanish dinner and my friends were amazed! It was delicious. I used only half of the can of sweetened condensed milk and long grain rice instead of the short one. These two changes didn't have any bad influence on the result. Once again, delicious, thank you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Nice but im not shure about how soft shall the rice be al the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GHung
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
A creamy orange-flavored Arroz con Leche with Arborio rice with one spoonful of margerine, and Dulce de Leche, Cuban-style with fine orange rinds, spiced with a dusting of nutmeg, cinnamon, vanilla, salt, and lots of sweet raisins to taste with cow's milk, condensed and evaporated milk tempered with one egg to create a custard. This is called Arroz con Leche Imperial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHung

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My husband is Cuban, and he loves arroz con leche. I just made it and we loved it! One thing, we didn't use the anise seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was good, but missing flavor. But it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I helped my daughter make this for a Social Studies assignment on Caribbean cuisine. This was the dessert after jerk pork, fried plantains and black beans made with sofrito (yum). It had a good flavor, but the kids thought it was better for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I am Mexican and love arroz con leche. My mom used to make it often because it is one of our favorite desserts but this recipe is better (sorry Mexican arroz con leche!) The only thing I do differently is not letting it get dry. We like it liquidy (did I just make up this word: liquidy?). The anise makes my family think I spiked the arroz con leche. We all love it!! I don't think it is as sweet as other members suggest. It is just perfect for my sweet tooth. The only problem I find is not finding short grain rice at the store. Long grain takes a loooong time to cook. I did find a medium one which I will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This recipe is 5 stars with my modifications. I'm used to the Mexican version so I had to change just a few things. I left out the lime and anise and simmered 1 cup of milk with a cinnamon stick and some whole cloves. When the rice was done cooking I put a strainer over the pot and poured the milk in. I added 3-5oz cans of evaporated milk instead of 12oz and added only 3/4 of the can of condensed milk. I sprinkled in more ground cinnamon and nutmeg too. The vanilla and salt I added as the recipe states. I only let it simmer for about 5 minutes because we like a lot of liquid with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was very tasty. I love the sweetness of the sweetened condensed milk and wouldnt have it any other way! I used whole milk instead of evaporated , used lime juice instead of the peel . To make a creamier pudding: at the end, remove about 2 cups of the pudding to a diffrent container and stir with 2 beaten eggs. Once mixed, add back to the pot along with nutmeg to taste, vanilla , 1 T of butter,and 1/3 cup of sugar. Cook another 3 to 5 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States