Aromatic Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I had some fresh asparagus, and was looking for something different. Generally, I do the olive oil saute with garlic, or butter with lemon. Unfortunately, I think that I'll be sticking with that method as I prefer my greens to be crisp, and these were very infirm. I didn't change any of the measurements, and didn't have a problem with the sauce being watery, but there did seem to be too much of it for the asparagus. It did actually taste pretty good, though! Maybe I'll try making half of the sauce to serve over sauteed asparagus, in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I went with some other reviewer advice and reduced the liquid to one cup each broth and milk. I think it was just a little too liquidy but not bad. I had one bunch of asparagus, and used 2-3 tbsp parmesan and just a couple shakes of poultry seasoning since I didn't have any plain sage. Would definitely make again, with just a little less liquid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krglvt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was a good starter recipe. I omitted the water and broth and only used 1 3/4 cups of milk. I also left out the sage and used 1/4 tsp of basil, 1/4 tsp of dill weed, and 2 tsp of garlic powder. Instead of parmesan, I used fontina cheese. I also steamed the asparagus and poured the cheese sauce over the asparagus rather than cooking the asparagus in with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I used to steam or boil the asparagus, this way turns out so much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg R,

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Loved it but used about half of the broth and no water. Also added a little more thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Too much liquid in this recipe. Even with one pound of asparagus rather than 1/2 pound, this was still was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonflaherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Mmmmm!!! I used the suggestions of others here and omitted the water and used half the milk and broth. I didn't have all the listed ingredients so I used these substitutions: 3/4 Cup chicken broth (broth from Amanda's chicken casserole recipe preparation [not published]) Havarti cheese for the parmesan It was incredible! I really want to use this on other vegebables using different kinds of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawkified

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was good. I used a pound of asparagus, eliminated the water, used 3/4 c broth, and only a splash or two of milk. Still there was too much liquid - I ended up thickening it a bit with some corn starch, and straining away the extra liquid upon serving. The Parm cheese did not want to melt when I mixed it in - it just got clumpy. Next time, I'll just sprinkle with cheese when ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I like it! Agree with other reviewers...cut down on the liquid. I removed the water entirely and cut the broth and milk in half. The asparagus steamed fine, and the sauce was appropriate viscosity and intensity of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was ok, but I thought the dried herbs really detracted from the delicate asparagus flavor. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States