Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made this and served it over egg noodles and my family loved it! I did have to add more salt than it called for but I will definitely be making this again!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is fantastic!! I have a family of 5 that I am feeding, and three of them have very hearty appetites. So I doubled the recipe and it was perfect. I added one large chopped red onion, and though I doubled everything, I added extra beef bouillon cubes (4). And did not add any salt. This recipe reminds me of my days in the military. Those who claim it's bland are forgetting it's called ARMY SOS. however I did not find it bland at all. This is a quick easy meal to make as well as delicious, and very inexpensive if on a budget. This is a keeper, even my fussy picky eaters love this and always get seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Midwestern Hubby loved it Added diced onion and garlic Served over hash browns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This recipe is perfect just as it is! I hate the flavor of this when made with cream of mushroom soup, bleh! Thank you for this recipe - we will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I just cooked it this evening for my husband and my self. Very delicious! I added a little bit of white cooking wine while the ground burger was cooking, then added sliced onions and mushrooms before adding the milk and worcestershire sauce. Served over rice with corn and rolls, was pretty amazing if I do say so my self! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
OMG! I was in the Army and we used to complain about having to eat SOS all the time. But, once I got out, I missed it. I was glad to run across this recipe for it. I won't tell you what SOS stands for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This tastes just like old school SOS, love it and I am so glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Immediately made one alteration to the recipe.I cut back on the flour to only 1 to 2 tbsp of flour per cup of milk.The more flour you add the more bland and thick (we're not making mortar here)it gets.Other than that we loved it!Try it over egg noodles instead of rice (as shown)the rice will make it even blander
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I gave it 5 stars but I did change it as most people did. I added garlic, half an onion, onion salt, garlic salt, pepper and lots of red pepper flakes. It turned out great and with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mander
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Yum! It was late didn't know what to make and I had ground beef... This was perfect and satisfying over top some rice! Added onion, extra Worcestershire, garlic, and some McCormick hamburger seasoning, to give it some umph. Will make again when I'm short on time, thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 730) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States