Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Decent and quick. Family all enjoyed the meal. However, it was bland with only Worcestershire Sauce and S&P. I omitted the salt as the bouillon had enough of its own. Next time I'm adding some nicely browned mushrooms and onions. Will definitely make again with some modifications. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Perfect as written. Just as my Daddy used to make...even my picky eater loved it. Oh and we don't eat alot of red meat so I made this with ground turkey. My soldier loves it...making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
i haven't made something like this in a long time. i really enjoyed it and my picky 7yr old liked it (my toddler wouldn't try it) anyway yes its a bit bland but its one of those "adapt to taste" recipe. I'd saute some onions but i know my kids wouldn't eat it if they saw them in their food. so i added onion powder and a bit of garlic powder and a bit more salt. I used fat free milk around 1 3/4 cups just got it to the right consistency and left out the worcestershire..never liked the stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is one of my family's favorites and definitely a go to recipe when I'm not really in the mood to cook. I've been making it for years and I make it this same way except that I add onion. We usually have it over mashed potatoes instead of toast or biscuits. My husband likes to top his with corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Pretty good! I seasoned the beef with garlic and onion powder as other reviewers had suggested and it worked out well. My 3 year old even ate it! Anything she eats, I keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
It's SOS-- nothing exciting, but a hearty and kid-friendly meal. I added chopped onion and substituted 1/2 c. sour cream for part of the milk. The family ate it all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good. Would add an extra boullion cube for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Perfect comfort food. I remember eating this growing up in the 60's. Would never serve this except on mashed potatoes. If using chipped beef, toast is the best. I did as others and added onion and garlic to the beef while cooking. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Super easy and my kid loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I cooked SOS almost daily in the Army and I can tell you, the beef bouillon and the Worcestershire sauce have got to go. They do not add to, but only take away from true Army style SOS. In place of using those two items use garlic powder and when browning the ground beef of at least 80/20% lean to fat add 1/2 cup chopped onions. Please have a bottle of hot sauce on the table for your dinners to further their military tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuffaloSoldier

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States