Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I give this 3 stars because it is not special. It's pretty bland. But, it's fine. I cooked rice to go with it and together they were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is such a classic traditional comfort dish, I simply had to give it 5 stars. I was in such a dreary mood today, I really needed a good old fashioned *food hug*. With my tummy warm and full, I feel all snuggly now (grin). I did drain beef, then went right to making the roux before returning beef to skillet. Simple - certainly not gourmet - but a wonderful kitchen staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very easy to make and quick as well. Only problem was it left a little to be desired in flavor town. Needed some onions and more seasoning for the gravy imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was very easy and I too like many others added more spices. I added half of a sweet onion, few dashes of cilantro, garlic salt, onion powder and 1 clove garlic. My kids liked it alot over the egg noodles. Thanks for the submission!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I rate this recipe as a 3 only because lack of taste so I modified it by adding onion and garlic while I cooked the ground beef add 2 1/4 t worstersire sauce and adding season salt for more flavor, I also after it was done poured it into a 9x13 dish topped with 4 pieces swiss cheese then put pillsbury crescent roll on top and made it into a casserole my grandson loved it and said this recipe is a keep :) next time though I will use biscuits on top of the casserole.. I will use this recipe again and as I type this up my grandson is asking for seconds lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Mattos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe! It's economical, quick and easy to make. My husband loves it. I fry the hamburger up with 1 small onion, then add a couple hearty dashes of hot sauce to the gravy. Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Gasper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Added some extra seasonings, but this was pretty good. I will definitely make again when I'm searching for a way to use up hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I ADDED ONION,GARLIC,AND THE MOST IMPORTANT ITALIAN SAUSAGE TO ADD FAVOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Gold Hill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
serving this on pasta or rice is fine but it was designed to be served on a slice of bread, plain or toasted. SOS stands for "sh*t on a shingle" or in more polite terms "same old stuff" My WW2 vet father knew it as S on a shingle and ate it both on base in the US and in the field kitchens in the rear areas behind the front lines. I also knew it as S on a shingle and it was always served on bread. Using ground beef is a variation because many people either don't know what chipped beef is or can't find it anymore. The original name for SOS was creamed chipped beef on toast. If you can't find chipped beef you can use chopped up deli-style roast beef slices or pastrami slices. The cook in our messhall never put onions or garlic in his SOS but being a good Louisiana boy he added his favorite hot sauce which turned the SOS a light pink. Very tasty and he took a lot of good natured ribbing about the color but everyone always went back for seconds. Including me. My dad would have liked it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe over ashed potatoes and a side salad. First time I made a gravy from scratch so I was totally excited. Have made this many times and the hubby loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States