Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have not tried this yet but I will. I ate a lot of SOS in the Navy, but that version was like sloppy joe over toast. I never thought about putting the beef in a gravy, but sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
no flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
one of my favorites, so simple, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was GREAT!! Easy, fast, and simple. Served it over egg noodles. Used basically what Cody added to it to give it flavor, but I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and not as much milk. It turned out amazing in about 20 minutes start to finish, and cost me about $9 dollars to make. Can't really tell how much of each ingredient I used cause I'm kinda a flavor to taste kinda guy. Just use Cody's recommended ingredients and that can of soup and season to taste. You could literally feed an army with this also. Enjoy!! I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was pretty good. My family liked it. Like others commented, ground beef tends to be bland so extra seasoning is a must. I sautéed a whole small onion with salt and pepper and 2 cilantro bouillon. I added 2 pound ground beef since that's what I had. Seasoned again with a little more salt and pepper. I brown my meat on medium heat and not stir very much. I find if I brown it higher than that and stir to much, the meat tends to toughen. It does take a bit longer to cook but worth the wait. Once browned, I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and let it cook 1-2 minutes. I used 1/2 cup flour since I had 2 lb meat. I was able to use the same amount of liquid measurements the recipe calls for (2 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 tsp Worcestershire sauce). It was the perfect amount even though I had more meat. I served over white jasmine rice. Nice quick dish for a weeknight meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My mom used to serve this to us for breakfast on toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is good but I also used cream of chicken soup and mushrooms. It can be made in 15 minutes or less!Brown the meat, add seasoning and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love this recipe. I used to eat this in Boot camp in Parris Island, and in Camp Lejeune, and in Camp Pendleton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
To all you "foodies" trying to add something so this isn't so bland, forget it! This recipe has a history. Legend has it that SOS was first served in France during WW1. Originally, it was Boeuf a la sauce d' Argonne which had been prepared for the officers' mess, but with the impending battle no one was eating. The Marines were moving fast and outpacing the field kitchens. It was Army cooks who came up with the idea to fire up their field stoves and get hot chow to Marines advancing along the eastern front. Slap a spoonful on a stale slice of white bread and enjoy. PS the Marine version is better! (of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Better than I had in the Navy by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Constantine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States