Armenian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Delicious! Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I had my doubts about this dish up until the final taste test before serving it, but the lemon and scallions really work wonders and complete the dish nicely. I added a carrot cooked with the onions and put some chicken bouillon cubes in the water instead of adding salt. And instead of plain yogurt, I whipped up a garlic-mint-cucumber yogurt sauce (like tzatziki)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe just proves that the simplest of ingredients can produce wonderful results. Absolutely delicious! I didn’t know I liked lentils so much! I served this as a side dish to the “Lahmahjoon (Armenian Pizza)” recipe. I had some lamb bones left from that recipe, which I used to make a stock to substitute for the water in this recipe. I also added a little bit of cucumber and mint to the yogurt sauce, just because I had them on hand. It was delicious. The ingredients list calls for a lemon wedge, but the directions indicate lime. Either would be delicious, but we used lime. My kids gobbled this up and asked for more. I can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Thank you so much for a recipe we will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodBuff
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Amazing combination of flavors! I had a bowl with all ingredients and them one of only lentils (without the lemon, yogurt and scallions) but it was much better with the lemon and scallions. The yogurt added a creamer texture but was not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Pretty good. I'm of Armenian desent and my Mother made a similar dish but more of a soup. My non-Armenian wife loves it and it IS healthy and NO THERE IS NOT TO MUCH SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made some changes, but absolutely loved it. I added a clove of garlic, a carrot and a stalk of celery to the onions. After the onions were done I added the water and lentils right to the pan. I also substituted 2 chicken bouillon cubes for the salt. When everything was cooking I realized I didn't have any bulgur so I substituted quinoa. The lemon really adds to it, and is necessary in my opinion. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was an enjoyable and different way to have lentils. I added some extra flavors - garlic, cumin and turmeric (not sure they are particularly Armenian, but they are flavors that I like to add to dishes). Tasted really nice with the yogurt and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Yummy! I totally forgot the yogurt and green onion, but this was very good anyway. The carmelized onions really make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very nice, easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
goes perfect with the "Lebanese Lemon Salad Dressing " salad that someone else posted on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States