Armenian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I loved it, so did my daughter. I did change it just a little, I sauted the onions with fresh minced garlic and I substituted some of the water with an equal amount of chicken broth instead and took out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Pretty good. I'm of Armenian desent and my Mother made a similar dish but more of a soup. My non-Armenian wife loves it and it IS healthy and NO THERE IS NOT TO MUCH SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I found this recipe very good, as I like lentils very much. Also they are extremly healthy. There were a few simple changes I made to adjust this recipe to my taste. first off, I cut the salt in half, I prefer lower sodium. I also like a little more spice so I added 1/4 tsp curry powder. Lastly I added 1 chopped carrot, for added flavor,texture and color. I accompanied this dish with warm artisan sourdough bread. I think this is a wonderful dish for a cold day to warm up your family and keep them healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe just proves that the simplest of ingredients can produce wonderful results. Absolutely delicious! I didn’t know I liked lentils so much! I served this as a side dish to the “Lahmahjoon (Armenian Pizza)” recipe. I had some lamb bones left from that recipe, which I used to make a stock to substitute for the water in this recipe. I also added a little bit of cucumber and mint to the yogurt sauce, just because I had them on hand. It was delicious. The ingredients list calls for a lemon wedge, but the directions indicate lime. Either would be delicious, but we used lime. My kids gobbled this up and asked for more. I can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Thank you so much for a recipe we will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I am of Armenian descent, and this is very close to my family's recipe. However, the cooking time for the onions is not correct. The onions need to be caramelized! They need to cook until they are brown, at least 30 minutes. Five to seven minutes is not enough. If they are not caramelized, the dish loses its main flavor and will be bland. Also, I recommend caramelizing the onions in a large pot, and then adding the lentils and other ingredients to that pot, not adding the onions to the lentils' pot. That way you don't lose the juices and sugars from the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRmenian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Far too much salt was added to make acceptable. More fresh vegetable salads, next time! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vahjiin T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Definitely not pretty to look at but I enjoyed it. I served it with chicken breast and spinach. I put plain non-fat yogurt over it and that added flavor. My husband's opinion was neutral and my teenage son turned up his nose (as he does with anything new.) Did take a little longer to cook than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I had my doubts about this dish up until the final taste test before serving it, but the lemon and scallions really work wonders and complete the dish nicely. I added a carrot cooked with the onions and put some chicken bouillon cubes in the water instead of adding salt. And instead of plain yogurt, I whipped up a garlic-mint-cucumber yogurt sauce (like tzatziki)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
goes perfect with the "Lebanese Lemon Salad Dressing " salad that someone else posted on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Just ok. This recipe is a good starting point, but it needs more flavor. I added chopped bell pepper and celery as well as cumin, but it was still missing something. I will probably play with it some more and figure out what spices it needs. On the plus side, the yogurt topping is a nice touch-adds a little extra tanginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States