Armenian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Far too much salt was added to make acceptable. More fresh vegetable salads, next time! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vahjiin T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I found this recipe very good, as I like lentils very much. Also they are extremly healthy. There were a few simple changes I made to adjust this recipe to my taste. first off, I cut the salt in half, I prefer lower sodium. I also like a little more spice so I added 1/4 tsp curry powder. Lastly I added 1 chopped carrot, for added flavor,texture and color. I accompanied this dish with warm artisan sourdough bread. I think this is a wonderful dish for a cold day to warm up your family and keep them healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We thought this dish was delicous and easy to make. Great touch in adding the citrus at the end... we used lime and it worked perfectly. I found the salt level to be appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My boyfriend is 1/2 Armenian, so I've been trying to incorporate some Armenian recipes into our meals. This turned out pretty good -- not pretty to look at, but tasty and incredibly hearty. I used just a little sour cream instead of plain yogurt, upped the amount of lemon used and served with parmesan. Tasty stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I loved it, so did my daughter. I did change it just a little, I sauted the onions with fresh minced garlic and I substituted some of the water with an equal amount of chicken broth instead and took out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe just proves that the simplest of ingredients can produce wonderful results. Absolutely delicious! I didn’t know I liked lentils so much! I served this as a side dish to the “Lahmahjoon (Armenian Pizza)” recipe. I had some lamb bones left from that recipe, which I used to make a stock to substitute for the water in this recipe. I also added a little bit of cucumber and mint to the yogurt sauce, just because I had them on hand. It was delicious. The ingredients list calls for a lemon wedge, but the directions indicate lime. Either would be delicious, but we used lime. My kids gobbled this up and asked for more. I can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Thank you so much for a recipe we will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Yummy! I totally forgot the yogurt and green onion, but this was very good anyway. The carmelized onions really make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very nice, easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Great recipe! It needs a little something to take it into 5 star status - but I'll definitely be making it again! And it makes a lot! I would say more like 6-8 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
goes perfect with the "Lebanese Lemon Salad Dressing " salad that someone else posted on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States