Armenian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jali528
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
These were great! I used a cube of chicken stock seasoning (makes 2 cups of broth)in the water for the lentils, cooked them for 5-10 minutes longer, and estimated the amount of additonal salt and pepper in step 2. I didn't have any bulgur, but this was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
so glad i stumbled on this recipe! i doubled the recipe and made a few changes. i only had a white onion and a leek so i used those, and added a few cloves garlic. i didn't saute them in a separate pan, but used the cooking pot and just poured the water in when the onions were done. i did add a teaspoon of cumin, some chopped fresh parsley, and some cooked chickpeas as i was using this as a main dish. i didn't have any green onion, or plain yogurt, or fresh lemon (although all of those would have been excellent) but i was able to sub sour cream for the yogurt and some bottled lemon juice and it was passable. next time i make it i'll make sure i've got the yogurt and fresh lemon, though, as well as the green onions. the flavor is excellent. glad i made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
These make a nice vegetarian dinner. It needs the yogurt topping to cool your mouth a bit, so don't skip it! It's pretty peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
One word; excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chupacabramuerte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made some changes, but absolutely loved it. I added a clove of garlic, a carrot and a stalk of celery to the onions. After the onions were done I added the water and lentils right to the pan. I also substituted 2 chicken bouillon cubes for the salt. When everything was cooking I realized I didn't have any bulgur so I substituted quinoa. The lemon really adds to it, and is necessary in my opinion. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was an enjoyable and different way to have lentils. I added some extra flavors - garlic, cumin and turmeric (not sure they are particularly Armenian, but they are flavors that I like to add to dishes). Tasted really nice with the yogurt and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FoodBuff
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Amazing combination of flavors! I had a bowl with all ingredients and them one of only lentils (without the lemon, yogurt and scallions) but it was much better with the lemon and scallions. The yogurt added a creamer texture but was not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
These are ok, but nothing to write home about. Spicier than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Pretty good. I'm of Armenian desent and my Mother made a similar dish but more of a soup. My non-Armenian wife loves it and it IS healthy and NO THERE IS NOT TO MUCH SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Definitely not pretty to look at but I enjoyed it. I served it with chicken breast and spinach. I put plain non-fat yogurt over it and that added flavor. My husband's opinion was neutral and my teenage son turned up his nose (as he does with anything new.) Did take a little longer to cook than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States