Armadillo Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Dry and hard: This is similar to making sausage balls and usually mixing the cheese sausage and flour together is a bit hard. Using your hands and squeezing it works becuase it gets the grease in the sausage/cheese to warm up and it all blends nicely after some folding and squeezing (over and over again). Another option is adding a couple tablespoons of buttermilk. Working it together by hand is work and leaving out the extra milk/buttermilk also leaves out extra fat and calories to an already fatty but oh so good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These taste great... 4 out of 5 stars based on the lack of detailed instructions and how time consuming to make. The biscuit dough is very dry, need to really mix with your hands and smash together. I cut medium size jalapenos in half and seeded with potato peeler. Even so, "eggs" are enormous. The peppers pop out of the eggs after cooking. Don't worry about this, shove them back in and let them cool for a few minutes before serving. the outside bisuit will harden up a bit and the pepper will stay inside where it belongs. You might want to warn your guests that these are spicy. Taste great... but not easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Yummy and so much fun. Everybody loved them. They were the first to go at the party. Will definitely do them again. Addendum...this recipe has become a legend in our family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Made these for a guy's keg night, and they were a hit! A note though, let them sit for a few minutes after removing from oven before eating them! If not, the oils from the cheese will burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Durdle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Very Yummy. My son and I had a great time putting these together. My hubby and he ate almost all of them. We only made a 1/2 batch as there are only 3 of us but they dissappeared. I'm a whimp when it comes to spice but I ate one and thought the flavor was good. I cut the jalapenos in half and found them much easier to handle. Thanks for a fun and unusual recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rising City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe is fabulous. My Hubby and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
definately deseed the jalapenos first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
these things are awesome i got the recipe a few years ago and every time i made them people cant get enough, definetly one of my favorite dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I made this recipe for my family and they thought they were great. Always asking me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This dish has been a hit! Now I'm "told" what to bring to pot-luck dinners. I've modified the recipe by using garlic powder instead of the salt. To save time, I chop up the jalopeno's and place with the cheese on top of the coating mixture. Then I roll into logs and bake. After they cool, I slice and serve with ranch dressing. They usually disappear within minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States