Armadillo Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These were... er... different. They weren't bad tasting, but they did look weird. I made them for a Super Bowl party and they barely got touched. I doubt I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I've made these quite often, for gatherings with friends, and they are always the first to go and well-received. I don't quite understand why reviewers say that these are way too much time and work consuming. After baking, let sit for a few minutes, then slice, don't serve them as an emormouse egg. I think they are fun to make, and pretty darn easy. An excellent and different appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made these for a party last night and they were the first to go! It was a little time consuming to prepare them but it was well worth the time. I ended up having to cut the jalapenos in half and then coating them. The first one I tried was the size of a baked potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Like another reviewer, I made an armadillo "log" by patting the sausage mixture out into a large rectangle and rolling diced jalapenos, cream cheese and the monterey jack up inside. While that was a bit trickier than it sounds, it came out tasting fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These were delicious! I took other's suggestions and added 1/3 cup milk to the batter and stuffed the jalapeños with cream cheese. I also only used 10 peppers. To prepare the jalapeños I cut off the stem, cut a slit down one side, and scooped out the seeds with a melon baller. It was quick and easy to go through the peppers that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
My mother in law makes these, except they are called "snake eyes" in her recipe book. They are absolutely to die for! However, not very diet friendly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This does take a while to prepare, and like some others, I did find it helpful to do half jalpenos, rather than whole, for the sake of keeping them from being too big. I chose to use cream cheese, as it was much easier to fill that way, and the cream was a delightful contrast with the pepper/spicy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but these were extremely dry and salty, and not a success at the potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I would rate this 5 stars with the modifications I made to make it easier. I use half the amount of cheddar cheese, & half of a block of cream cheese cut into 24 small cubes. Then I use canned jalapeno slices. I mix the sausage mixture, roll into a ball, flatten out, put a jalapeno slice & a cube of cream cheese, and fold the sausage mixture over and seal the edges. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Dry and hard: This is similar to making sausage balls and usually mixing the cheese sausage and flour together is a bit hard. Using your hands and squeezing it works becuase it gets the grease in the sausage/cheese to warm up and it all blends nicely after some folding and squeezing (over and over again). Another option is adding a couple tablespoons of buttermilk. Working it together by hand is work and leaving out the extra milk/buttermilk also leaves out extra fat and calories to an already fatty but oh so good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States