Armadillo Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
My husband and I had a wonderful time preparing these together. We were a bit unsure if the sausage needed to be cooked ahead of time and from our experience it does not have to be cooked. They are so yummy! If you do not like really spicy foods you can substitue the whole jalapeno for a green chile pepper instead. You can also stuff the jalapenos with 1/2 cream cheese mixture and 1/2 montery jack cheese mixture. You have got to try this recipe anyway you decide to make it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This was very dry and hard to handle. I added 1/3 cup milk to the batter and it worked very well. Also tried with Cream Cheese in the jalepenos and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
The batter needs about 1/2 cup of milk to make the it stick to the pepper and cheese. Just the right amount of spiciness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
These were good but next time I don't think I will make 'eggs'. I think I will just roll out the sausage dough with a greased roller and put green chili peppers and shredded pepper jack cheese on half of the dough, fold over, seal, and then cook. Let it cool enough so the cheese doesn't run, then slice into bite size pieces. I left out the pepper flakes because I didn't want 'hot'. I also only used 2 teaspoons of garlic salt and that was plenty. As another reviewer stated, had to add 1/3 cup of milk to get the extremely dry mixture to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This dish has been a hit! Now I'm "told" what to bring to pot-luck dinners. I've modified the recipe by using garlic powder instead of the salt. To save time, I chop up the jalopeno's and place with the cheese on top of the coating mixture. Then I roll into logs and bake. After they cool, I slice and serve with ranch dressing. They usually disappear within minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
These are good hot from the oven or cold from the fridge. Great appetizer for casual get togethers. I have a couple of time saving tips: Cut the stem off of the jalapeno and scoop out the seeds and membrane with the tip of your potato peeler. Rather than cubing the cheese, cut it into rectangles and just slip it in from the end that you cut the stem from. For the reviewer who wanted more zip: toss the balls into Shake and Bake for Pork, the hot and spicy type. That ups the heat without hiding the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is a very time consuming and tedious recipe, but as with many other things in life, the finished product is worth the wait! I have made these several times exactly as the recipe states. Next time, I may follow another viewers advice and cut the peppers in half. That should cut down on the pepper prep time. These armadillo eggs are a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These were really tasty! I agree that next time I might just cut up the peppers and make more of a log out of this just for easier making. My jalapenos were large and I had no idea how this was supposed to look, so I was only able to make 9 "eggs". That's a pretty far cry from the 24 that the recipe said it would make. I loved the spice in these - it was perfect for us. I did add some cream cheese to the stuffing of the peppers, which was yummy. I also had to add one egg to the "breading" in order to make it sticky and hold together around the peppers. I would grab a handful of the sausage/breading mixture and then flatten it in my hand (like a hamburger patty, but VERY thin) and then put the jalapeno in the middle and roll the patty around the pepper. It would then take a little smooshing to make it perfectly fit around, but I think this method seemed to work well. All together a very good recipe. I have included a few before and after pics so others can see what it looked like for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
We had a Mexican Fiesta on Christmas Eve and these were a BIG HIT! A little time consuming when you make enough for thirty people, but worth it. We wanted them smaller so we cut the peppers into thirds and used Bisquick. This worked out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I made these and my husband and I really liked them. They were a little time consuming but worth it. I also had to cut the peppers smaller. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States