Armadillo Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Thanks for sharing a great recipe! It is time consuming but oh so worth it! First time we made this we cut the peppers in half, cleaned them, put the cheese in the center of on, topped with the other half then put the sausage mixture around it. Second time we left the peppers whole, cut off the end, and used a older metal potato peeler to clean out the membrane and seeds, stuffed it with cheese, then put sausage mixture around it. Didn't get all the seeds and membranes out so some were hot and some weren't. Both times, however, they quickly vanished off the serving plate! We bought a block of Monterey Cheese and cut pieces to fit inside the peppers. We used shredded for the sausage mixture and it worked great. We did have to play with the baking mix/sausage mixture to get to where we could handle it without it being all sticky but we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
followed recipe without exception and these were not difficult to make and came out looking great. The only thing missing is flavor. I think if the recipe was revised as some others have done it might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stove Top

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These were very good. Here are the modifications I made: - 15 Jalapenos (they were pretty large) - used 1 pack of cream cheese and 8 oz of pepper jack for filling. Added a couple dashes of hot sauce and tspn of Old Bay Seasoning. - Only used an 8oz pack of chedder cheese for the outer coating, and I used hot sausage. Some reviews say that they had to add milk, but I did not. It took some work to mix everything in with the sausage, but if you use your hands it is easier. The prep time for me to make 15 was at least an hour, but they were very good and worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These turned out really good. I made them for our Christmas party, the only complaint I got was the peppers were pretty crunchy. I think next time I will roast them in oven for a few minutes first. But they were all gone 20 minutes after I showed up so they were still a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristyn O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
these took a really long time to make, but everyone loved them! Word of caution, they are SPICY... at least mine were since it's prime season for peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Always a hit and a little unusual at first sight, they are never left and never forgotten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Love the idea and the taste, but be prepared it is time consuming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Find the right ratio of spiciness for you. Try carving out all but one of the veins for example... when you leave in too much it's almost unbearable, and if you take all the heat out it's no fun! Very important balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These were really tasty! I agree that next time I might just cut up the peppers and make more of a log out of this just for easier making. My jalapenos were large and I had no idea how this was supposed to look, so I was only able to make 9 "eggs". That's a pretty far cry from the 24 that the recipe said it would make. I loved the spice in these - it was perfect for us. I did add some cream cheese to the stuffing of the peppers, which was yummy. I also had to add one egg to the "breading" in order to make it sticky and hold together around the peppers. I would grab a handful of the sausage/breading mixture and then flatten it in my hand (like a hamburger patty, but VERY thin) and then put the jalapeno in the middle and roll the patty around the pepper. It would then take a little smooshing to make it perfectly fit around, but I think this method seemed to work well. All together a very good recipe. I have included a few before and after pics so others can see what it looked like for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
These were so delicious! I kept the jalapenos whole and used a melon baller to clean out the seeds.. I'm on the look out for a smaller spoon, the melon baller was a little too large. I added shredded cheese to the sausage mixture and ended up filling the peppers with cream cheese mixed with a ranch packet. Delicious! Ohhhh and these make a rockin' sandwich the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States