Armadillo Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tee2giddy
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was very tasty. I needed to add some liquid (1 egg & milk) to make the sausage coating stick and it was a slightly messy endeavor. But I made these"poppers" and the same ones wrapped only with bacon, and my S.O. preferred these I think I would put the effort in to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I was hesitant at first about the sausage. I've used bacon to wrap the peppers, but not sausage. I tried hand mixing the ingredients, but quickly realized that was not happening. I saw where people put milk in it to get it to stick, but I wasn't going to put anything else in the mixture. I got out my Ninja Blender and threw half of the mixture in and blend it all up very nicely. I put the other half in and did the same. My jalapeños were huge so it only made 15 of them. Next time I will use cream cheese with bacon bits mixed in, as well. I was impressed with the outcome of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Takes a lot of work and they don't look pretty, but oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very timing consuming and did not work. The idea of trying to wrap the jalapeno in a sausage mix causes it not to stick properly. Would suggest stuffing the jalapeno with sausage mix and baking or deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
these are like lays potato chips no one can just eat one love em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clynnc19
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made these yesterday and they were very good but a little too spicy for me. Husband loved them so that's a plus! Like others have suggested, I added some milk so my batter wouldn't be so dry. I also stuffed a little cream cheese inside of each egg. All the cheese ended up coming out before they finished cooking. Not really sure what I did wrong there. Next time I'll try stuffing them with less cheese and see what happens. Other than that this is a wonderful recipe that goes great with food at a BBQ. You could also wrap these in bacon and grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clynnc19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
We loved this recipe. They were wonderful even days later warmed in the microwave. In fact they made a terrific quick and easy afternoon snack. I just wrapped them individually in foil and put them in our lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Instead of baking mix - use pork flavored Shake-N-Bake. These were good but I encourage you to try the Shake-N-Bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Wonderful appetizer that fills like a meal. My family loves these and always requests that I make them for family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I've done a similar recipe but I put in cream cheese for the middle and after wrapping them in sausage I used shake and bake to coat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States