Arkansas Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Made this for the family when my brother came home to visit. Everyone liked it so much they asked me to make it for Christmas dinner a couple weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is a great potluck recipe that can be modified easily. I used one of those bulk-sized cans of green beans, drained it, and put in a large bowl. For the bacon, I cut 7 slices into 1-inch pieces and sauteed them with 1/2 of a chopped onion until they were both partially cooked. I mixed the other ingredients together, using only 6 teaspoons of light soy sauce, and then stirred them into the green beans with the onion and bacon to coat all of it before I poured it all into a 11x15 baking pan. They cooked just 30 minutes, and really could have cooked less. They were delicious and made a LOT. Yes, they are soft, and yes, they are sweet. They're canned green beans with brown sugar in them, so that's not surprising. Even though I used more green beans than the recipe called for, I didn't increase the sauce and it ended up tasting just right. Thanks for a great recipe - and as an Arkansan, I love the name of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great recipe! My family really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These are good. I used frozen beans and cooked them on the stove first. So once I put them in the oven with the other ingredients, I didn't leave them in for 40 minutes. Since canned beans are already soft, I would recommend not leaving them in the oven that long either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was the most fantastic Green Bean side dish that I have ever served. I got rave reviews from family and from guest at a dinner party. The were looking for more when it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I loved this. I had three out of ten that didn't like the crispness of the green beans. I also didn't have garlic powder so I traded it out for garlic salt. I like salt on my vegetables so this worked out fine. It definitely adds flavor to them. Great recipe and not to time consuming or hard to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena Lincoln
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I now use this recipe for my thanksgiving dinner. I also use fresh green beans that I par boil first. I also add about 1/4 cup of dried cranberries which makes it more "Thanksgiving-ish". Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Pollack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Great flavors! We did make some alterations: Chopped up 8 slices of bacon and pan-fried until crispy and rendered. Sauteed 2 pounds of fresh green beans in the bacon drippings. Omitted the butter. Half the amount of sugar. 2 cloves of fresh garlic. Delicious - loved how the sauce made a nice glaze on the bacon and beans! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was a hit at our Thanksgiving feast--even with my 3 year old who won't eat greenbeans! My only change to the recipe was I omitted bacon--my husband doesn't eat pork. (That is a love sacrifice right there!) I imagine it would be amazing with the bacon, but even without it is fantastic. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
i had what i am assuming are the same green beans at a restaurant in northeast ar the last 2 yrs while there on business, and i have tried and tried to find or figure out how they made them......this is it. thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States