Arkansas Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this recipe... First I did the recipe as is - which was fantastic tasting. I do prefer fresh green beans over the canned though. My boyfriend loves Asparagus, so he requested that I add that as a variation. Second time around, I did 2lbs of fresh green beans and 1lb of fresh Asparagus. When doing the sauce, I kept everything the same (except I did not realize I had no brown sugar - so I substituted regular sugar with molasses.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shony Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe is screamin'. Adjusted for servings, then wished I had done the full recipe. Everyone wanted more. Definitely a keeper...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcrochte
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this at Christmas, and was the favorite of most guests. This marinade would be great with meat, and other veggies. I imagine we will be using it for kabobs in the summer. Like others suggested, I used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I thought it could be less, but my guests like the sweetness. I steamed green beans in advance, and cooked the bacon in advance in a pan. We had ran out of soy sauce, but had packets from past Chinese take out. Seven packets later, I had a great marinade to pour over the green beans. Will definitely make again, but maybe experiment with the proportion of brown sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
i did what everyone else did and halfed the sugar. its just about my favorite recipe. i can't stop thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These were awesome. My daughter-in-law has never said anything, about what I have made, till now. I was surprised, when she told me they were really good. I have made them 3 times, in the last month. My hubby asks for them now. The last time, I added ham, instead of bacon. Still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made these twice in one week! Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a great dish. The only think I would suggest, if you don't like the "sweet" taste is to cut the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walsh, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My son and fiance loved this version of green beans. I won't make them any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These have become a go-to recipe for Holiday meals for me. I gave my cousin this recipe for this past thanksgiving since she was cooking this year, and everyone was raving about it and asking for the recipe. The first time I made it, I made the mistake of using fresh beans but forgot to adjust the time, and we ended up with undercooked beans at dinner. I definitely recommend using canned beans, I think they have been the best for this. Also, I recommend tearing the bacon up into bite-size pieces before putting on the beans. The whole pieces I used the first time were hard to eat. Also, I tend to prefer savory foods, but I don't find the sweetness of this recipe overpowering at all, it is perfect as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States