Arkansas Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Huge disappointment. 40 min @ 350 = extremely over cooked beans and I used fresh beans.Can't imagine what canned beans would have been like since are already partially cooked.I used half the sugar and they were way too sweet. Used only 5 tsp soya, 7 would have been too much. Used one clove fresh minced garlic; that was good. Overall these beans had a nice flavour but they were overcooked, too sweet and too greasy. If I tried this recipe again I would make the sauce with less sugar, less soya and less butter, I would steam the beans, cook the bacon with the garlic, make the sauce and pour it over the cooked beans. But guess that would be a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Oh. My. God. So I have to be honest. I picked this recipe over the various others because of the fact that you bake it. This is much easier when making a large Christmas dinner. I was VERY worried how it would taste, the brown sugar part was making everyone make faces. So I took the suggestion of others and halved the brown sugar. As I was worried about the sauce permeating through all the beans, I also added 50% more sauce. Turns out this second part was not needed, but taking the brown sugar down by half was. IT WAS PERFECT. Everyone LOVED it. The only other changes I made was that I did cut the bacon into smaller pieces before microwaving, but I still layed it on top, and used enough to cover the beans. I also used frozen beans, and 4 bags worked well. We will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This one is the keeper for our family. We have been looking for a green bean holiday recipe for years. Next time I will pull out the bacon and crisp it up and crumble it in the beans and I might add some french fried onions. The recipe is a 5 star as it is though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I love this recipe! I will definitely use it again and again to add some pizzazz to the basic green beans and bacon recipe. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These were ok. Nothing great. Could be improved with the use of fresh green beans instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASTRONG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
It is not that this dish isn't delisious...because it is. Everyone ate it, but I cut the sugar in half and I still felt like I was on a sugar high after eating it. It was way too sweet, and if you are going to be serving a vegetable dish during Thanksgiving when you have alot of other sweets on the table, it could be the thing that puts you right over the edge. I would choose a healthier dish to make than this. But, if you just want a vegetable on your dinner table that your kids will eat, and there are not other sweet items competing, this is a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These were fantastic! I do not like green beans much and have been looking for a recipe that actually appealed to me. Well, I made these for Thanksgiving and they went fast! They were soo good! This will be the ONLY way I will ever do beans again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My husband loved this recipe! New family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnia
Home Town: Black Oak, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were delicious. I served them on Thanksgiving and received lots of compliments. My husband asked me to make them again a couple of days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Made as directed. Most guests loved. Hubby said it tasted like buffet food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States