Argentinean Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I really liked this potato salad. Using russet potatoes really kept the potatoes from not breaking when mixed. The mayonnaise was not too heavy, which I prefer, and I liked the addition of the dill and mixed vegetables. They both added a little color to the potato salad. I doubled the recipe. My russet potatoes were gigantic, so I used 6. I only had frozen mixed vegetables so I cooked an approximate amount for 10 minutes, in some water, in the microwave. I used real mayo, as I find the reduced fat too sweet and watery in salads. I subbed dijon mustard for the dry. I just like it better. I believe I may have accidentally added an extra egg too, which is no problem in potato salads. I later noticed I was out of green olives, after preparing the rest of the ingredients, so they got left out. It made it closer to traditional potato salad anyway. For double the recipe I used 3/4 of a teaspoon of salt and pepper, which seemed to be a good amount for double the recipe. I got one large bowl of potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe has good elements and a few that I would change and did when I made it to make it perfect! It's delicious and great to make for a party. Not to mention the fact that it's Argentine :) **I used yukon potatoes instead of russet because they have a softer, creamier texture that works well with potato salads. **Additionally, I used less mayonnaise--but that's just a personal preference. It wasn't dry and I only used ~1/4 cup. **Definitely would use only about 1/4 tsp. dill (or even less and keep adding to taste), because it is a powerful flavor and 1/2 tsp. doesn't seem like a lot but it overpowered all the other flavors, despite that this is fairly bland. ¡Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
very good. a nice change from plain old potato salad. didn't add dill, not a big fan. otherwise, no other tweaks made. thanks for the post Saul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Thank you for the recipe! It's very authentic in using the canned veggies. The version we grew up with had more beets and less potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was searching for south american potato recipes when I found this one. This really was a great version of potato salad! I served it with BBQ chicken breasts and a green salad. I was surprised how beautifully the lemon, dill and olive flavors blended. I'm usually not a big fan of dill and I almost skipped it. I'm glad I didn't! I loved the mixed vegatables in it; I also used cooked frozen mixed veggies as others suggested. My only other substitution was using yellow mustard instead of ground, but I do that with just about any recipe that calls for ground mustard. It is cheap, easy and always on hand. The recipe does lose one star because my kids did not like it (ages 7 and 2). They don't like any potato salad I've found yet, though. They suggested trying this recipe with honey mustard instead of regular. If they like it with that change I'll let ya'll know. ;) Thanks so much for such a great recipe! I'm eating the leftovers for lunch. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Was ok, I thought it could use more of a kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My husband really liked this..I felt it needed more seasoning/spices.I thought it was bland..BUT I DID really like the ingredients, otherwise...will be making this again...but will add onion, salt, pepper and maybe a touch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is about as close to the traditional "Ensalada Rusa" as I've tasted. It's a great companion to the Argentine Asado (BBQ). I personally like more mayo, so I increased it to 1 cup. Also, the mayo in Argentina is lemony to begin with, so the lemon juice here is very important. You can also buy similar Mayo in Latin markets (Mayonesa elaborada con limon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Did not go over well at my South American themed party. Despite the mustard, lemon juice, and olives, this salad made according to the recipe just lacked something - I would have expected it to have more of a "zip".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this as written (except I didn't have any olives and used fresh dill) - delicious. Will be even better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States