Argentinean Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I really liked this potato salad. Using russet potatoes really kept the potatoes from not breaking when mixed. The mayonnaise was not too heavy, which I prefer, and I liked the addition of the dill and mixed vegetables. They both added a little color to the potato salad. I doubled the recipe. My russet potatoes were gigantic, so I used 6. I only had frozen mixed vegetables so I cooked an approximate amount for 10 minutes, in some water, in the microwave. I used real mayo, as I find the reduced fat too sweet and watery in salads. I subbed dijon mustard for the dry. I just like it better. I believe I may have accidentally added an extra egg too, which is no problem in potato salads. I later noticed I was out of green olives, after preparing the rest of the ingredients, so they got left out. It made it closer to traditional potato salad anyway. For double the recipe I used 3/4 of a teaspoon of salt and pepper, which seemed to be a good amount for double the recipe. I got one large bowl of potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
very very good! I substituted fresh peas and corn instead of canned and didn't change another thing. My argentine husband LOVED it. Thank you so much for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I grew up eating this salad and it is just the way my mom used to make it. I do use slightly cooked frozen veggies and works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
What a delicious potato salad! I used a frozen mixture of peas and corn for the mixed veggies, and I loved the colors they added to the salad. The green olives give the salad a bit of a salty flavor which is outstanding. An unusual but great twist on traditional American potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
UUMM great recipe almos like my mom's but less original.. i found that using real veggies tastes a lot better.. also i dont like adding mustard but there are many ways to tweak it so it really doesnt matter its better up to your taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is a fantastic, different version of potato salad! I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of fresh dill instead of the dried but that is the only sub. The green olives give this recipe an added kick and work deliciously! Whodathunk to add a can of Veg-All to potato salad? Not me, but it works out great! I"ll definately be making this recipe again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this as written (except I didn't have any olives and used fresh dill) - delicious. Will be even better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is about as close to the traditional "Ensalada Rusa" as I've tasted. It's a great companion to the Argentine Asado (BBQ). I personally like more mayo, so I increased it to 1 cup. Also, the mayo in Argentina is lemony to begin with, so the lemon juice here is very important. You can also buy similar Mayo in Latin markets (Mayonesa elaborada con limon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My husband really liked this..I felt it needed more seasoning/spices.I thought it was bland..BUT I DID really like the ingredients, otherwise...will be making this again...but will add onion, salt, pepper and maybe a touch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States