Argentine Meat Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These were very tasty empanadas, but I think even a little bit spicier would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Very good recipe. I added tomato sauce and a little flour to meat mixture because my boyfriends Argentinian mother suggested, and it was really good. also omitted boiling meat. used saltena brand empanada dough from frozen section of argentinian market. i like the ones that are made for oven and "drier" as in flakier crust. but both are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Close but not quite. I've made these several times and was shown how by my friend from Buenos Aires. We use almost the same ingredients except... No shortening, 1- white onion, No paprika- Hungarian or hot, No vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, and Filo dough brushed with raw egg at the seam and on top. They turned out perfect every time and tasted great. Side note- friend preferred pimento stuffed green olives while I did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These are amazing. I used the goya empanada dough instead of the puff pastry and it turned out awesome. There are endless fillings for these doughs, and they can be baked or fried. I will try buffalo chicken and diced tomato next. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
As a born-and-raised Argetine, these are really, really close to the real thing. I always leave the eggs out I just sautee everything together, but I wanted to say go to your local latin/spanish market and get the real empanada dough, it's much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Want hot Empanadas with the original recipe from Chile. California Inland folks only. Email me at hot4empanadas@hotmail.com.. we deliver hot and fresh... delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
We were in Argentina last year and had some empanadas. This recipe is quite authentic in flavor. I really enjoyed having them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
After getting a pregnancy craving for empanadas this morning, I found this recipe and thought it sounded delicious. I ended up doing three things different than as posted... I cut the shortening down to a 1/4 cup because 1/2 looked like WAY too much, I used 3/4 onion - again too much, and I added cilantro because I had it and thought it would be good. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5, is because the lesser amount of onion and shortening was perfect - otherwise this recipe was exceptional. Will use again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
the ingredients sounded odd, but the end result was better than expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
WOW!! Just like my great-grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States