Argentine Meat Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was wonderful. I didn't add the green olives and eggs because my daughter doesn't like them, but I think that the raisins made the dish. I used the puff pastry dough, but forgot to thaw it, so I baked those and then filled them. I am going to try the empanada dough one reviewer mentioned next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I made these for a Missions banquet at church. Different people were assigned different countries to prepare dishes from. These were a huge hit. The South American Table stayed the busiest all night. I doubled my recipe and made about 60 empanadas....I too chose to leave out the raisins, but added everything else. The puff pastry was a little difficult to use, the next time I will find a recipe for emanada dough and make that. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was fantastic, even better than I had hoped. I made slight changes though: first of all, I had to double the amount of cumin and I used 3 tbsp of red pepper flakes (I used the ones that come with pizza) I had just a few chopped olives and I dumped the vinegar they come in along with a tbsp chopped jalapeño and a bit of the its vinegar. There is a person who said cumin is not in the original recipe, well it is. Paprika, however, is not. So I didn´t use any, believe me, I didn´t need it! The boiled egg sounded odd, but considering it is an original ingredient, I added it. It went well with the other flavors. I already had some flaky crust handy, so I used it. They were great, will make often and perfect for special ocassions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
These were a hit at a party.I added extra vinegar(red wine vinegar) for more flavor. I sauteed the onions and extra lean meat together. The raisins were a really nice addition to the mixture. These were definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was my first time making empanadas and I'm hooked! I read the other reviews and cooked the onions and meat together, then added spices. These were very easy and tasted GREAT! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The meat filling was tasty. However, like a previous reviewer, I too chose not to use the puffed pastry and opted for the dough from the Empanadas Fritas de Queso recipe. All in all they were very good. I did not have any raisins so I substituted with craisins. Next time I think I will try it with my pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great recipe. I changed it up a little. I used a leftover spoon roast I had from the night before and minced it a food processor. I also made pizza dough to use as the dough. I also tried it with puff pastry-but the pizza dough was easier to work with and tasted great. I also added fresh cilantro. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Made these and they are excellent. Had extra meat left. Made more and froze them. They cook and taste great just like the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BratCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
After reading all the great reveiws on this I was excited to try this recipe. But the end result was nothing special. I did make my own empanda dough from scratch (from another recipe on this site) rather than using the puff pastry. I also substituted some chopped up baked potato for the hard cooked egg since the egg seemed odd to me. And, as suggested by other reviewers, I cooked all the filling ingredients together rather than following the directions in the original recipe. I did, however, use only 1 tbl of olive oil to cook everything in instead of the 1/2 cup shortening as in the recipe since that seemed very excessive. Maybe that lack of fat was what gave my filling a somewhat dry texture. We also found the seasoning to be rather bland. For all the effort that went into making these, these were only ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States