Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Unusual, healthy and fabulous--my favorite combination! Not sure why it is called "Argentine"--my son-in-law is from Argentina and says they don't have anything resembling barbeque sauce there. But, he likes it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
AWESOME, AWESOME recipe. Thanks so much for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This stew is amazing! My fiance begs me to make it at least once a week, which is quite the accomplishment because he is a meat and potatoes man. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is fabulous! I never knew lentils and apples were such a great combination. As another reviewer has mentioned, the carrots don't go completely soft, but I like crunchy vegetables so this is a plus for me. I didn't have any bbq sauce on hand but I was determined to make this so I threw together a sauce from ketchup, vinegar, sugar, Worchester sauce and smoke granules. It didn't taste exactly like bbq sauce but I'm loving the flavour of the stew so much that I would consider using this home-made concoction again when I make this meal next time. There will definitely be a next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Absolutely delicious recipe! I was skeptical about the lentil, apple and BBQ sauce combo, but when it was finished it had the most hardy and flavorful taste that I never would have imagined. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Very good. I made it just the way it is and had it for lunch all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This Argentine lentil stew is surprisingly delicious!!! I followed the recipe precisely and the stew turned out great! The ingredients combined very well. The lentils are soft while the vegetables (and apples) remain slightly crisp. The stew is a little spicy, a little sweet, and very filling; a perfect meal for the cold winter nights. I am very pleased with this recipe and it will definitely become a regular meal in my home. This is the best recipe I have found on allrecipes.com, I would rate it a 10 if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
i am married to an Argentinian, and when I made this for him as an appetizer...with a few less lentils...he said it reminded him of eating at his favorite aunts. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
THIS RECIPES IS SO GREAT, IT'S AMAZING. I ADDED 1/2 CUP BBQ SAUCE AND EXTRA PAPRIKA, AND IT WAS DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Very good! The apples add a sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States