Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This Argentine lentil stew is surprisingly delicious!!! I followed the recipe precisely and the stew turned out great! The ingredients combined very well. The lentils are soft while the vegetables (and apples) remain slightly crisp. The stew is a little spicy, a little sweet, and very filling; a perfect meal for the cold winter nights. I am very pleased with this recipe and it will definitely become a regular meal in my home. This is the best recipe I have found on allrecipes.com, I would rate it a 10 if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this stew last night and I love it. I kept the basic recipe the same but added a little more carrot, apple, paprika and some chopped celery. I also added a pinch of cayenne pepper and plenty of black pepper. It turned out so well! It's the perfect low fat way to use up veggies. I may try adding more veg next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was pretty okay. I made it exactly as written except instead of the fresh tomatoes, I used a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes slightly drained. I agree with some of the other reviewers, it is kind of bland and the carrots do not get done. I will put the carrots in with the lentils the next time if I do make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is fabulous! I never knew lentils and apples were such a great combination. As another reviewer has mentioned, the carrots don't go completely soft, but I like crunchy vegetables so this is a plus for me. I didn't have any bbq sauce on hand but I was determined to make this so I threw together a sauce from ketchup, vinegar, sugar, Worchester sauce and smoke granules. It didn't taste exactly like bbq sauce but I'm loving the flavour of the stew so much that I would consider using this home-made concoction again when I make this meal next time. There will definitely be a next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Wow, this recipe is so good and a wonderful take on your regular lentil soup. I added chopped celery, doubled the garlic, used chicken stock instead of water, and substituted a 14.5 oz can of petite diced tomatoes for fresh ones. Put in all of you vegetable at the beginning if you want them soft, which I do. The addition of cumin powder, chili powder, and a few dashes of hot sauce makes this stew just right. Purée half of the soup for a rich consistency. Reserve the peas to add during the last couple minutes of cooking. I wouldn't purée the peas. This healthy, satisfying soup is a keeper. Serve with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was amazing soup! I added crushed red pepper, cumin, oregono, basil, bay leaf, and a few rosemary springs because I like my soups spicy. The barbacue and apples go amazingly together. Anyone who dosent like this soup is probably not a big fan of lentils or does not like barbacue sauce cause this was awesome. Thanks so much for sharing, this will become part of my weekly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was awesome. My daughter is vegan and I'm doing WW so it was a perfect blend! I did 6 servings, used veggie broth and water, as some reviewers suggested, added some cumin & cayenne pepper and extra paprika (I like lots of flavor) and didn't add any salt since the veggie broth supplied plenty. Will make this again and again. My daughters also suggested adding black beans and corn. This recipe is so versitile, you could use all sorts of veggies and spices to customize it to your tastes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have to admit, while it was cooking I was unsure of it all. It turned out wonderful. My 11 year old wanted to give it 100 stars. Only changes I made were that I doubled it, I used chicken broth (5 cans in a double batch) instead of water and vegetable boullion, and I used a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes. Hearty, tasty and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Unusual, healthy and fabulous--my favorite combination! Not sure why it is called "Argentine"--my son-in-law is from Argentina and says they don't have anything resembling barbeque sauce there. But, he likes it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I wanted to try this recipe as the additions of an apple & barbeque sauce sounded interesting. My main suggestion is to add less barbeque sauce & increase it according to your personal taste. It's much easier to add more than to try to dilute an ingredient that's overwhelming. Anyway, I only added 1/8 cup of barbeque sauce & that was plenty for my family. I substituted 32 oz. chicken broth for the water, omitted the vegetable boulllion, added diced celery, & substituted a can of petite diced tomatoes for the fresh ones as I had that on hand. I added the carrots with the lentils & cooked the soup for longer than it said. The last thing I did was to add the peas at the end of the cooking time as I didn't want them to get too mushy. Next time, I'll use an entire bag of Goya lentils, double the recipe, & freeze some containers of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States